Questions about Kill Disk. - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-16-2014, 04:20 PM   #41 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Questions about Kill Disk.

Windows can't format itself
using the OEM's restore disk would probably be the quickest.
__________________

Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2014, 04:30 PM   #42 (permalink)
True Techie
 
SHELBYGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 104
Default

We get computers that requires a install disk in order to restore it. Didn't know if formatting the hard drive would work.

Note, i'm not here to make their business better lol, just trying to learn for myself
__________________

SHELBYGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2014, 04:36 PM   #43 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Questions about Kill Disk.

If you run killdisk, you won't need to manually format the drive, windows will do that during the install process.
Sometimes some manufactures will put the restore image on a hidden partition on the hard drive and if you wipe it with killdisk, the restore disks won't be able to run because the restore image is gone. If that happens, you have to contact the manufacture in order to get a real restore disk
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2014, 04:46 PM   #44 (permalink)
True Techie
 
SHELBYGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 104
Default

Yes this is true. Were i work at its restore then kill disk. If it wont restore, (mainly windows 7) then we have to salvage it.
SHELBYGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2014, 06:00 PM   #45 (permalink)
True Techie
 
SHELBYGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 104
Default

What is the difference between VGA and DVI? I mess with them all day and i dont see that much of a difference.
SHELBYGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2014, 06:11 PM   #46 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,024
Default Re: Questions about Kill Disk.

In the boot CD just spam F8 (I believe) -- a command prompt will appear.
use the DISKPART program to format your drive.

In my experience diskpart takes way longer, but I've never performed a quick format

VGA cables carry an analog signal while DVI carry digital signals. DVI usually produces a cleaner image. And DVI can support higher resolutions
__________________
7700k 32GB RAM 512GB 960 Pro GTX 1080 NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2014, 06:36 PM   #47 (permalink)
True Techie
 
SHELBYGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iFargle View Post
In the boot CD just spam F8 (I believe) -- a command prompt will appear.
use the DISKPART program to format your drive.

In my experience diskpart takes way longer, but I've never performed a quick format

VGA cables carry an analog signal while DVI carry digital signals. DVI usually produces a cleaner image. And DVI can support higher resolutions
So would dvi be better than hdmi?
SHELBYGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2014, 07:20 PM   #48 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Questions about Kill Disk.

DVI and HDMI are the same quality - both are digital signals.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2014, 07:30 PM   #49 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Questions about Kill Disk.

HDMI can carry an audio signal
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2014, 07:44 PM   #50 (permalink)
True Techie
 
SHELBYGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
DVI and HDMI are the same quality - both are digital signals.
Mmm didn't know that. I been seeing alot of dell insprion desktops only having DVI hook ups. Some hps but alot of dells.
__________________

SHELBYGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Kill Processes With Auto Kill Any Process Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 10-05-2009 08:49 AM
Batch Kill Processes with Kill Process Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 04-28-2008 08:02 AM
Guns don't kill people, Eagles fans kill people. superdave1984 Off Topic Discussion 1 04-01-2007 03:03 PM
kill disk lester8908 Programming 1 02-12-2004 08:39 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.