Question regarding loading OS on HDD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2007, 08:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 33
Default Question regarding loading OS on HDD

Anyways, I'm going to make a long story short, and say my laptops hard drive wasn't working, and I replaced it. Now the only reason I have confidence in the replacement is the fact that the BIOS menu is showing that the HDD is detected. Now comes my new problem. I attempt to use the restore disc, and it will start going and then it will say (random file) could not be uploaded or it is corrupted then I press a key and it restarts. Any idea about what I could do?
__________________

Howlz is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 09:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: Question regarding loading OS on HDD

My guess is that there is either a problem with the cd drive (connection,drive) or the cd itself.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 11:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Snake91839's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 471
Default Re: Question regarding loading OS on HDD

I would bet that the cd is scratched?


If not, maybe it is the cd drive, but my bet is on the cd
Snake91839 is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 11:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 139
Default Re: Question regarding loading OS on HDD

Hello! I'm pretty sure it's not the CD or the drive. See, one of the disadvantages of Recovery CDs is hardware changes. If a user purchases a system, then over time replaces or upgrades components in the system, the recovery CD may fail to install drivers for the new hardware. Remember that the Recovery CD contains a complete copy of the entire contents of the hard drive in its factory default state. Computer manufacturers provide the recovery CD so that the end user can quickly and easily restore their system to its factory default. To make sure this is the issue, borrow a Windows CD from anybody or purchase one and try installing it; you should be able to complete the installation. If not, there's something wrong with the Drive. Post back with results or more info so this can help to others with similar problems. Good Luck!
__________________
\"You just don\'t live life. You change it. You shape it. You make a mark upon it...\"
COCOCOOKIE is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 12:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Snake91839's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 471
Default Re: Question regarding loading OS on HDD

hmm, didn't even think about that, but it makes sense!


come to think of it, i bet that's what it is, it's happened to me a few time
Snake91839 is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 09:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: Question regarding loading OS on HDD

are you sure you have plugged in your hard disk correctly? if not it will have problems and maybe it will damage it. also make sure other components are not failing like ram.
__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 03:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Snake91839's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 471
Default Re: Question regarding loading OS on HDD

Quote:
Originally Posted by advancedgeek View Post
are you sure you have plugged in your hard disk correctly? if not it will have problems and maybe it will damage it. also make sure other components are not failing like ram.
eh, It really doesn't sound like RAM, and if his HD wasn't plugged in correctly, he wouldn't have gotten as far as he has.
__________________

Snake91839 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ram OC question zetahammy Overclocking and Modding 0 06-16-2007 01:18 AM
Power Question cheezhead18 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 10 05-13-2007 12:23 PM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM
Help me clear something up please(Fresh install of xp type question) jonny_uk Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-21-2007 06:38 PM
Case Fan Question Shafra Overclocking and Modding 10 04-18-2007 06:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.