Question about Zalman heatsink/fan - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2005, 02:15 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default

A friend suggested that I take off the speed controller, so I did, which just made the cpu temp rise 3º and my CPU speed is now at 3174, while it was at 3214 before.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 03:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default

Here are some pictures I took. I'm not sure what to apply the paste with, so I used something that came with the HSF that looked like that might be its purpose.




__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 03:04 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

If your cpu is a prescott don't expect it to be running ultra cool,The best thing to do is get some Artic silver 5 insted of using the crap that came with the heatsink,You might not notice a big drop in temp's while idle but you should notice a difference while under load.

*EDIT*

That cpu shot look's like hell,When applying the paste you will want to get a nice smooth paper thin layer.
Shumway is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 03:15 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default

What would be the best way to go about applying it?

I'm aware I'm a complete idiot since I'm new to this, sorry.
__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 03:23 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KingAustin
What would be the best way to go about applying it?

I'm aware I'm a complete idiot since I'm new to this, sorry.

Try and use a credit card or similar and try to get it spread as evenly as possible,And don't be sorry for being a newbie cause we all started the same way
Shumway is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 03:24 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Heh, lol. The best way to apply it is exactly like I said. Well, it is a very good and widely used way anyway. Everyone has their own method of choice. All you have to do is put that rice sized blob in the middle of the cpu and then install the heatsink right on top of the blob. Physics will take over and the goo will be pushed into the spaces it is meant to fill.
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 03:25 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default

Should I remove the paste that I have on there already, or just go ahead and try to smooth it out?
__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 03:31 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KingAustin
Should I remove the paste that I have on there already, or just go ahead and try to smooth it out?
It would be best to revove it and start all over again
Shumway is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 04:50 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default

Ok, I removed it all and put a "rice sized" piece. Sorry about the blurry pics, but you can still see how big it is.




Right now it's at 52º, so I'll let it set for a bit. I really hope I did it correctly this time as I'm getting tired of unplugging and replugging in everything
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.