Question about Seagate 1.5TB External Drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2009, 04:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Default Question about Seagate 1.5TB External Drive

I got a Seagate 1.5TB external yesterday. As soon as it was plugged into the outlet, the drive turned on, which was when I noticed it didn't have any kind of power switch, unlike the Iomega 500GB drive I've been using.

So I backed up my files and everything, no problems. I went to "Safely Remove Hardware" and it said it was fine to remove, so I did. Then with no power switch and no instructions in the box about this, I just unplugged the drive from the outlet.

When I went to back some new stuff up this morning, Vista asked me if I wanted to scan the drive for errors, like I'd yanked it out of the USB or something.

I'm worried about this. Is there some other way to turn the drive off and on without disconnecting it from a power source? Am I fine as long as I just use "Safely Remove Hardware"? Or should I just leave this thing on and plugged in 24/7?
__________________

fumble is offline  
Old 06-24-2009, 10:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: Question about Seagate 1.5TB External Drive

Doing some searching, I found that other people have had the same problem (with turning it off). It seems like there is no way to turn if off (the comments here from other people state the same thing as you: Customer Reviews Of Seagate FreeAgent Desk ST315005FDA2E1-RK 1.5TB 7200 RPM USB 2.0 Silver External Hard Drive - Retail ). When you plug it back in and take a look at your files, are they corrupted in any way?
__________________

__________________
yzmxer608 is offline  
Old 06-24-2009, 06:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Question about Seagate 1.5TB External Drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by yzmxer608 View Post
When you plug it back in and take a look at your files, are they corrupted in any way?
No, they seem to be fine. I guess that's all that matters; the Scan-for-errors message might just be Vista being careful.

Well, according to Seagate's website, as long as the USB is safely disconnected, apparently it's fine. And my 500GB external's been accidentally disconnected from power sources while it was turned on, and it's never had any data loss, so this should be fine.

Thanks for checking around! I'm glad to know I'm not the only one having this problem. Maybe Seagate will start including instructions with the next model, haha.
fumble is offline  
Old 06-24-2009, 06:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Question about Seagate 1.5TB External Drive

when you want to remove it your suppose to use the "Safely Remove Hardware" icon in your system tray

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-24-2009, 11:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: Question about Seagate 1.5TB External Drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by fumble View Post
I went to "Safely Remove Hardware" and it said it was fine to remove, so I did. Then with no power switch and no instructions in the box about this, I just unplugged the drive from the outlet.
He did . Glad to hear no corruption has been made to your files. Seagate should document this for future packaging so people know how to properly unplug the drive.
__________________
yzmxer608 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External Hard Drive Leech by Company Computer? ross.harris Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 5 01-30-2009 05:53 AM
External hard drive is breaking my balls. DallasX Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 12-23-2008 01:55 PM
Dell Dimension 3000 won't recognize old Seagate hard drive bpatters Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 12-12-2008 03:49 PM
External Hard Drive Problem sanders2021 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 05-07-2008 02:57 PM
Hard drive fails File Structure test tropicalfish Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-15-2007 01:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.