A question about my Dell PC - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2009, 11:24 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Default Re: A question about my Dell PC

So I should look into getting a minimum of 1GB of RAM, maybe a new Processor?
__________________

Wilson77 is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 11:32 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: A question about my Dell PC

Yes, and if you want to play games you need to actually get a graphics card. Unless you are trying to play ancient games, you're not going to be able to run anything modern. Maybe some semi-modern games, like 3-4 years old, will be able to play on very low slowly. In saying this I'm assuming your mobo is as old as the rest of your parts, and therefore your integrated graphics are terrible.

I think it is time for a whole new build.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 11:44 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Default Re: A question about my Dell PC

Thats my problem, I cant afford a new one. Or to be honest, anything, so im kinda screwed. The computer im using is a minimum of 6 years old and the game I want to play is Halo PC/CE and San Andreas.
Wilson77 is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 11:50 PM   #14 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: A question about my Dell PC

Really given the restrictions i would say that RAM upgrade would be your best option. Check out

Memory upgrades, flash media, and usb storage at Crucial.com

that will give you the info on what RAM you have installed and what you can get. RAM isnt to bad in price now and it will be your best option to at least be able to play the games you want without having to do a whole new build.

I can play Halo easily on my system which is a Dimension 8400 with 3GB of RAM. the RAM cost me only $40 when i bought my 2GB kit recently. So that will be your best option if you cant afford to go all out with a new build.

With Dell's it is close to impossible to get a new CPU with their mobo's. they have such a restriction on their mobo that to find a compatible CPU would be very tough.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 11:56 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Default Re: A question about my Dell PC

Yeah, halo runs fine for me, cept my graphics are crap. But it still runs fine, san andreas on the other hand does not.
Wilson77 is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 12:00 AM   #16 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: A question about my Dell PC

Do you know if you at least have a PCI Express connection open for a bare minimal card to be used? If so you could possibly get a older video card for your system from ebay and not spend a fortune.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 12:35 AM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Default Re: A question about my Dell PC

Idk, im kinda just, waiting till I get my new computer though.
Wilson77 is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 01:55 AM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: A question about my Dell PC

I would upgrade ram only at this time.

Then, save you money for a new build. Normally I would say you could start upgrading items such as gpu and psu that could be used in your new build but, with a dell case these upgrades can be problematic.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 02:35 AM   #19 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
 
Spit-wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default Re: A question about my Dell PC

+1 on the ram upgrade. I used my dad's Dell for a long time... made a big difference when I upgraded from 512mb to 1gb.

Also if you don't mind reinstalling some software, reformatting is the most thorough way to clean up ur pc.
__________________
Spit-wad is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 05:04 AM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 89
Default Re: A question about my Dell PC

Since it is a Dell PC, there is more than likely all kinds of TSR's (Terminate and Stay Resident programs) that they load into memory as well. Most computer manufacturers tend to overload your computer with useless crap (eg. Online Tech Support, Virus scanners, and anything else under the sun). I'd check to make sure that only the bare minimum is loaded into memory, as you have but a smidgeon to begin with and can't afford to have anything else hogging it up.
__________________

MundoDragon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DELL XP key with a Retail cd question dario03 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 06-08-2008 10:34 AM
Dell Inspiron E1705 Gaming laptop Really Cheap Norcent Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 6 11-30-2007 05:49 PM
Problem with Dell Axim X50v masjana.liza Laptops and Notebooks 4 11-18-2007 12:23 PM
Dell Dimension 4300 Quick Question NayNay1991x Microsoft Windows and Software 3 07-29-2007 07:08 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.