Question about high CPU usage - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2014, 07:13 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Question about high CPU usage

Quote:
Originally Posted by danpeter645 View Post
May be you want to try the liquid cooling thing .. i heard that one is good if you have to work on some serious hardware.
Seriously ? I hear people swear by water cooling to keep mid-range or higher intel chips cool...
But to me its not worth it at all, look at what he's dealing with:
ARK | Intel® Coreā„¢2 Quad Processor Q9550 (12M Cache, 2.83 GHz, 1333 MHz FSB)
This would be more than enough to keep him cool even at 3.8ghz

ZALMAN CNPS10X OPTIMA 120mm FSB (Fluid Shield Bearing) Shark's Fin Blade CPU Cooler - Newegg.com
ARCTIC MX4 Thermal Paste - 4gram - Newegg.com
__________________

-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 01:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,291
Default Re: Question about high CPU usage

Actually the H50 with a single fan didn't tame my Q8200 all that much. The older Intel chips were freakin toasters.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 05:08 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,814
Default Re: Question about high CPU usage

I'm running the same Q9550 but have one of those huge heat sinks with a 120mm fan and I forget what temps I was getting but they were not too bad, My guess is either slow down the burning or a better heat sink, Mine also hit up to 100% but don't over heat, I also found I getless errors if I burn the disks slower, I don't burn as much as I used to so now I just slow it down and wait a few minutes longer.

Dauntae
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 05:28 PM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,291
Default Re: Question about high CPU usage

Think of the difference between the stock heatsink and whatever you might be using
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 05:38 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,814
Default Re: Question about high CPU usage

YUP that's why I said either a new heat sink or burn at slower speeds.
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 11:27 AM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,291
Default Re: Question about high CPU usage

Burning at slower speeds will only help with the possibility of a bad burn. If his CPU is still at 100% he's still going to have a heat issue. I think he either needs a new solution or a solid repaste and reapply. Those older 775 stock heatsinks are terribly designed.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 04:16 PM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Question about high CPU usage

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Burning at slower speeds will only help with the possibility of a bad burn. If his CPU is still at 100% he's still going to have a heat issue. I think he either needs a new solution or a solid repaste and reapply. Those older 775 stock heatsinks are terribly designed.
Hmm maybe I'm wrong here, but it might be a combination of dvd/cd drive and software issues.
If he's had the drive for more than 3 years working like a pro and all of a sudden it starts getting burn errors constantly.
I would look into the drive and see if a firmware update is necessary.
If thats not the problem, what software is causing the problem ?

For burning dvd/blurays I recommend convertx2dvd or nero essentials 10 or higer up.
Avoid nero vision express like the plague if you have big projects to burn on dvd.
Music, data or image mounting and burning I recommend power iso.
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 04:18 PM   #18 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,291
Default Re: Question about high CPU usage

+1 to ConvertXtoDVD.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Workstation PC - High dust, High moisture, High chance of getting knocked a little saltynay System Upgrades 12 11-02-2010 12:08 AM
CPU Usage And Crashing, svchost.exe sucking up CPU Usage Bahamut Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 10 05-30-2007 06:01 PM
High CPU usage (again) abastak Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 05-10-2005 02:52 PM
CPU usage is high... Blitze105 Microsoft Windows and Software 18 02-09-2005 04:49 PM
help please high cpu usage problem n4mation1990 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 12-27-2004 12:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.