Question about "bad audio"..... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2006, 09:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5
Default Question about "bad audio".....

I purchased an Emachine a couple years back, and right from Jump Street, the audio has been crap. This is to say, it sounds sort of like it is being piped through a bullhorn. (Not amplified that way, but "muddied", you know?)

I tried different speakers, and that wasn't the issue. I figured, "I don't use the sound that much, so who cares?"

Well, I'm to the point where I just would like to have a regular sounding system.

My question to the pros from Dover out this a simple fix I can do with some tender guidance from some of you, or do I need to send my unit off to the shop for "who knows how long", to get it looked at?

Thanks for any help you can offer!

Dee Dee Dee! is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 09:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath

Well, if you just pop in an add-on sound card I think it sould work perfectly.

LegendBreath is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 09:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5

I'm a complete "geek", over here. Is that something I can just buy and do with relitive ease?
Dee Dee Dee! is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 11:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351

ya. buy a cheap sound card, and pop it into a pci slot on your motherboard, install the drivers and shabam, your sound should be ok then,
E6300 Core 2 Duo
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 11:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
CrazeD's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD

Here, get this:

On the back of your computer, on the rightside, there will be two large thumbscrews. Remove these screws. Now, you can push the sidepanel back and off.

On your motherboard, you'll see 3 or 4 white rectangles with slots, in the lower left corner. These are the PCI slots.

There should be a screw on the case infront of the PCI slot. Take the screw out, and take the little cover off, and then put your soundcard into the PCI slot. Be gentle, but be firm at the same time. Once it's in the PCI slot, put the screw threw the metal on the soundcard, and into the case to secure it.

Put the sidepanel back on, and put the two thumb-screws back in, and fire up your machine. When the eMachines logo comes up, press and hold F2 until the BIOS menu comes up. Go down to "Integrated Peripherals". Now go to something like "OnChip PCI device" (I'm not sure what the exact name is for your BIOS). Once there, look for something audio related. Mine says "OnChip Audio Controller", find something similar. When you got it, press enter and change it to Disabled.

Press F10, and then hit Y, then enter to save changes. Your PC will reboot. When it comes to the desktop, insert the driver disc to install the card's drivers.

I'm sorry if I just confused the **** out of you.

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 12:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5


I went ahead and ordered that part.

Thanks to everyone for your help, and I will keep you posted!
Dee Dee Dee! is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 04:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5

Well, it came today, and I popped it in. It was pretty easy, thanks to the help from CrazeD.

The only issue I have......the sound is fine, but very low! Even at full volume, I am at about what I would consider 2-3 on a 10 scale.

Sumpin' aint right!

Dee Dee Dee! is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 10:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 21

Did you check the system settings in your operating system, as well? It should be set to high by default, but someone might have moved it. Check 'sounds' in 'control panel' if you're using windows, there should be a slider for device volume.
Casalen is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 08:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5

It seems to on;y be the one drive. "DVD" came in loud in clear when I put it in there, but the "CD" drive was real weak.

The settings were amped up all the way. Thanks, though!

Dee Dee Dee! is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.