Q9400 needs f6 Bios update, but it won't execute? - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2010, 02:43 PM   #41 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Buffalo, NY, USA
Posts: 90
Default Re: Q9400 needs f6 Bios update, but it won't execute?

OMG I LOVE YOU. I FIXED IT! ONE OF THE SETTINGS WAS ON EXTREME FOR OVERCLOCKING, ALL I DID WAS PUT IT ON STANDARD AND IT WORKED. I LOVE YOU AND ALL OTHERS WHO HELPED ME OUT
__________________

remedy is offline  
Old 02-07-2010, 03:11 PM   #42 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Q9400 needs f6 Bios update, but it won't execute?

Ahhhhhhhh, see shoulda use the jumpers 2 days ago........ Do I hear a TOLD YHA SO...........


J/k btw..... glad it got sorted... Now you can oc it to be even better.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-07-2010, 04:00 PM   #43 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Q9400 needs f6 Bios update, but it won't execute?

I'm glad we helped
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 02-07-2010, 04:51 PM   #44 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Buffalo, NY, USA
Posts: 90
Default Re: Q9400 needs f6 Bios update, but it won't execute?

ahahah not to burst your bubble patonb, but I didn't use jumpers lmao! I just took the batter out for 10 minutes. but you were both right about the temps, it is really hot and I think I need a new cooler before I continure playing games, itll get up to 80c sometimes :S
remedy is offline  
Old 02-07-2010, 06:28 PM   #45 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Q9400 needs f6 Bios update, but it won't execute?

You can try to lower the temps by lowering the Vcore.

With things stuck in OC mode, maybe the vcores too high.

Unless you hit the load default option.

Even so, try lowering the vcore, run prime95 to test stability, if swtable, lower again.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-07-2010, 08:05 PM   #46 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Buffalo, NY, USA
Posts: 90
Default Re: Q9400 needs f6 Bios update, but it won't execute?

Ok, I turned the vcore down from 1.2875 to 1.0000. Not too much of a difference, but my question is what should it be set at? Like what is reasonable that will lower the temps?
.8750?
remedy is offline  
Old 02-07-2010, 08:22 PM   #47 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Q9400 needs f6 Bios update, but it won't execute?

That I'm not sure....

But 2 questions........ What program are you using to monitor temps...

Do you have proper thermal compound on the chip? I know you've played around with it, so is the TIM still good?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-07-2010, 11:17 PM   #48 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Q9400 needs f6 Bios update, but it won't execute?

MANHATTAN Computer Products : CPU Thermal Grease

For that quadcore you have you should queeze a small gum size on that, put the heatsink fan on before latching, twist left and right twice then strap on the cooler.

Artic silver does a better job but manhattan will do temporarily until you find a good cooler.
Don't buy it from radio shack though they want 10.00 bucks for the stuff.
Your Local computer store will sell it for 4.,99 to 6.99 total with tax.
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 05:43 PM   #49 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Buffalo, NY, USA
Posts: 90
Default Re: Q9400 needs f6 Bios update, but it won't execute?

Alright, grabbed some Arctic and put about the size of a rice grain on, works pretty well. Still neeed a new CPU cooler though
remedy is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 06:18 PM   #50 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Q9400 needs f6 Bios update, but it won't execute?

You look around at all for heat sinks? Or do you need suggestions?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bios update question chara33 Microsoft Windows and Software 6 08-17-2009 03:54 PM
CUstom BIOS Splash AP4LIFETN Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 06-09-2009 03:24 AM
BIOS Update BottleRocket Microsoft Windows and Software 6 05-26-2008 07:26 PM
Possible to update Bios without Floppy? aetherh4cker Microsoft Windows and Software 5 01-09-2008 08:03 PM
update bios Nick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-01-2007 07:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.