Q6600 first boot up. Idles at 50 C after a few minutes? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2007, 04:43 PM   #11 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Q6600 first boot up. Idles at 50 C after a few minutes?

also depends on room temp. just moved in a new home and my room turn out to be the hottest. And guess what temps rose 10*c higher even with my Thermal Take cooler

It runs 43*C with 5500RPM fan on idle
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 05:32 PM   #12 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Q6600 first boot up. Idles at 50 C after a few minutes?

Ambient temperatures do indeed, play a big factor, in your system's temperatures.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 05:37 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Q6600 first boot up. Idles at 50 C after a few minutes?

Newegg.com - ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler - Retail

There's the one.

But when I get off work, in an hour and a half, I'm heading over to a local computer store. I'll pick a good one up for around $50 and some arctic silver.

I'm going to be doing alot of gaming tonight at my friends, so I'm not down at all for leaving that stock one on at all. Especially not with no AC in an apartment with multiple TV's, computers, and consoles going. Way too hot for that.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 05:38 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Q6600 first boot up. Idles at 50 C after a few minutes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Ambient temperatures do indeed, play a big factor, in your system's temperatures.
And I'm aware of that.

The temp of the room it was in was very very cool. My house is airconditioned and is always in the very low 70's. I have two 120MM case fans too.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 08-03-2007, 01:48 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Q6600 first boot up. Idles at 50 C after a few minutes?

UPDATE:

That mobo took a dump on me.

First time I've ever treid an Abit, last time I ever will. That had to of been the most random/last stable mobo I've ever used.

I took it back and got an ASUS. Love that brand, I had an ASUS A8N-32 SLI in my last AMD rig. Now I have another!
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 08-03-2007, 02:02 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Q6600 first boot up. Idles at 50 C after a few minutes?

My Pentium 4 idles at like 55 and hits 75 under load, which it does alot since I started folding.

I figure if it goes out...Pentium 4 cpus are cheap...heh...
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 08-03-2007, 02:03 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Q6600 first boot up. Idles at 50 C after a few minutes?

Haha, well those are known for running hot. Like the Pentium D's haha.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 08-03-2007, 02:07 PM   #18 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Q6600 first boot up. Idles at 50 C after a few minutes?

Same with my P4. But I added some AS5, and now it loads at 55C.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 12:20 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Q6600 first boot up. Idles at 50 C after a few minutes?

I just went from my e6600 to my q6600 and the one thing i noticed is that the dual core had a thermal paste type coating, and the quad has what looks to be a thermal pad. The thermal pad is crap. I'm also running at 50C at idle on stock cooling.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about setting up a tri boot /w a raid. kiyotaka Linux and Open Source 2 07-13-2007 03:28 PM
5 minute, 49 second boot up time, please help! otbpaintball Microsoft Windows and Software 12 05-09-2007 09:11 PM
How to boot from a boot disk? Ioanni Microsoft Windows and Software 6 05-07-2007 06:53 PM
Boot Mgr Missing ??? RedTail Microsoft Windows and Software 9 05-01-2007 01:43 AM
boot cd Pabulum Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-09-2007 09:51 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.