Q6600 first boot up. Idles at 50 C after a few minutes? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2007, 11:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Q6600 first boot up. Idles at 50 C after a few minutes?

Alright. So yesterday was my big upgrade day. It's almost my 2 year mark after my last upgrade and prices seemed right.

I picked up a 8800GTS a little over a week ago. Yesterday I picked up-

Mobo- ABIT IP35-E
Newegg.com - ABIT IP35-E LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

CPU- Q6600 Core 2 Quad
Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor - Retail

Memory- OCZ Gold 2GB (2 x 1GB)
Newegg.com - OCZ Gold 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

No criticisms of what I got, or could of got. I purchased those parts for my reasons .

So. Got home. Put that mean sucker together. Install the heatsink correctly (I've done 775's numerous times for friends/family), booted into BIOS and decided to check my idle temps just to know what it would boot up and idle at.

To my surprised, the temp read 46 C right away, and kept increasing. After around 3-5 minutes, it peaked at 50 C.

The stock heatsink is where it's suppose to be, i didn't mess with the thermal compound.

The heatsink doesn't feel anywarmer then it should.


Me thinks the temp sensors must be off.

Your thoughts?
__________________

__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 11:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Q6600 first boot up. Idles at 50 C after a few minutes?

Maybe the thermal compound has to be burned in first. That seems normal for a stock cooler. And the Q6600 does put out quite a bit of heat. If you used AS5 or MX-1 thermal paste, it should go lower.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 11:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Sydzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 416
Default Re: Q6600 first boot up. Idles at 50 C after a few minutes?

Yeah, I don't know. Same thing happened for my CPU, it sucked.

E6600. Stock cooler, idle around 60 or something, friking ridiculous. After about 3 months I got a 3rd party, silent knight, an asus one, it was the best one available at the time, and from what i hear it is **** good.

Thats dropped my CPU down to 40 without overclock or anything... so that is a healthy temp for my CPU to be at, sure, but seriously? 40 idle without overclock and a good heatsink? so lame, lol

and my case has more than enough ventilation, and I don't live in a hot area. it is winter! lol

Oh well
__________________

92% of teenagers have put some stupid made up statistic in their signature. If you're one of the 8% that aren't quite as gulliable, copy this.
Sydzy is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 11:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Q6600 first boot up. Idles at 50 C after a few minutes?

Huh. Well thanks for the input guys. I wasn't sure how much heat those quad's pumped out.

I'll let the rig idle all day today and might have to get a heatsink by tonight.

We're having a huge game sesh at my friends house tonight. 3 or 4 computers, PS3's, 360's, N64, PS2 for Guitar Hero II.

It's going to get way hot in there. I might have to pick up a heatsink before that, I'm not down for my new rig to overheat and I want to be able to use it tonight.

That or after I get off work I could pick up some Artic Silver 5 and see how well that'll work. I just don't wanna drop $70 on a heatsink quite yet.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 12:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: America
Posts: 18
Default Re: Q6600 first boot up. Idles at 50 C after a few minutes?

Some bios's have the option to set what temperature your fan kicks on. I have mine set at 45 C and that's about where it sits. Room temperature may also affect it, and case fans help also.
Slim420 is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 12:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Q6600 first boot up. Idles at 50 C after a few minutes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slim420 View Post
Some bios's have the option to set what temperature your fan kicks on. I have mine set at 45 C and that's about where it sits. Room temperature may also affect it, and case fans help also.
I have the fan on constantly. I guess I'm just used to running AMD procs. Idleing at 32 C and not getting past 42 or so haha.

The room it's in is very cool. I live in a house with central air, so it never gets warm in there, so I know it's not that.

I also have 2x 120mm fans. One intake one exhaust. Right now the sides open though.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 12:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: America
Posts: 18
Default Re: Q6600 first boot up. Idles at 50 C after a few minutes?

Hmmm, that should do it!! My cpu is usually sitting at around 40 or so...It's a Celeron D. I've seen it at 47-48 C for days at a time (I live in AZ, and never turn my comp off!!) with no ill affects. I've read in a magazine that as long as it doesn't get up to 70+ C for too long (mine will max out at 79.9 for about 5 seconds every now and then, but I don't think the thermometer will read any higher) then 45-50 isn't bad, but don't take my word for it......It's your computer and if you don't feel comfortable with it at 50 C then I don't blame you!
Slim420 is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 01:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Q6600 first boot up. Idles at 50 C after a few minutes?

WOW! Ya thoes Celeron D's run hot, just like the Pentium D's!

I couldn't imagen livin in AZ!

Haha yea, jus tknowing how much I've put into it yesterday, and over time. It'd kill me if something happend to it.

I think I'll pick up some artice silver 5 and use that stuff witht the stock heatsink.

i found the heatsink I want, but it's only on newegg and no one around here carries it. Aslong as I can keep it under 60c under load or so I'll be comftorable with it.

I'm just used to using AMD's. So anything past 45C under load makes me nervous, it's just what I'm used to.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 01:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Q6600 first boot up. Idles at 50 C after a few minutes?

What's the name of the heatsink you want?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 02:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Q6600 first boot up. Idles at 50 C after a few minutes?

my e6600 is running at around 28C at idle with the stock cooler and 2 case fans. That does seem somewhat hot, even for a quad.
__________________

veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about setting up a tri boot /w a raid. kiyotaka Linux and Open Source 2 07-13-2007 03:28 PM
5 minute, 49 second boot up time, please help! otbpaintball Microsoft Windows and Software 12 05-09-2007 09:11 PM
How to boot from a boot disk? Ioanni Microsoft Windows and Software 6 05-07-2007 06:53 PM
Boot Mgr Missing ??? RedTail Microsoft Windows and Software 9 05-01-2007 01:43 AM
boot cd Pabulum Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-09-2007 09:51 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.