pwr supply - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2008, 08:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10
Send a message via MSN to dabander
Default pwr supply

what if i put in an older one im my newer one?
__________________

dabander is offline  
Old 07-12-2008, 09:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: pwr supply

Hello,

I am sorry what? What is it you are asking? Put a older what in a newer what? Need some info to be of help here.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-13-2008, 03:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: pwr supply

He's asking what if he puts in an older power supply in a newer computer.

Well, what are the specs of the older PSU? What's the wattage/specs on the sticker on the side?

What's the specs of the newer computer?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 07-13-2008, 07:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Yek
T.F's Resident Cool Guy...
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,613
Send a message via AIM to Yek Send a message via MSN to Yek Send a message via Yahoo to Yek
Default Re: pwr supply

Yeah, we need some more info.
Generally putting an older PSU in a new computer does not cause any problems providing the wattage is high enough for the devices you are running.

As CarnageX said, give use the specs of the PC and all the info you can find on the side of the new + older PSU and we'll be happy to help you out.

Cheers,

~ Tkey
Yek is offline  
Old 07-14-2008, 01:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10
Send a message via MSN to dabander
Question Re: pwr supply

ok. do psu's just quit because i put a less wattage in and it works. my old one was 500W and the new one is 450W.
dabander is offline  
Old 07-14-2008, 01:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
I can't brain today
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 311
Default Re: pwr supply

That sort of made no sense. But a 450W can be more powerfully than the 500W as it all comes down to the amps on the 12v rail.
[t..o..m] is offline  
Old 07-14-2008, 11:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10
Send a message via MSN to dabander
Default Re: pwr supply

so is a less W more than a higher one? which psu W do i get?

i have and amd sempron 3000+, 1gb ram, 2 sata hd, dvd rom, cdrw, onboard video and audio and lan, floppy drive
dabander is offline  
Old 07-14-2008, 11:57 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10
Send a message via MSN to dabander
Default Re: pwr supply

my 500W is dying so i used a 450W is that better?
dabander is offline  
Old 07-14-2008, 12:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: pwr supply

It depends on what you are replacing it with, and what the orginal one was - as said before it's not the watt's that matter it's the amp's on the 12 vault rail.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 07-14-2008, 01:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: pwr supply

Hello,

Check this thread:

http://www.techist.com/forums/f76/up...-guide-137927/

That will give you the best info on the quality of a PSU and how to compare them. Reading the STICKIES proves useful.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
What To Look For When Buying Computer Components Luke Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 25 01-07-2009 09:09 PM
Help needed prasmat System Upgrades 1 06-29-2008 11:05 AM
Help with my PSU! weezerguy187 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 01-27-2008 04:58 PM
Power Supply Question Higach New Systems | Building and Buying 2 01-15-2008 11:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.