Putting 2 OS's on 1 HDD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2012, 04:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Putting 2 OS's on 1 HDD

Hey guys. Sorry for the silly title but couldn't remember the word that we use lol. Anyway I am thinking about putting Linux on my windows 7 PC. How would I go about this? I know I need to partition the drive then what?
__________________

__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 11:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Putting 2 OS's on 1 HDD

Dual booting? If you want to install Linux alongside Win 7, you need to do nothing. Just make sure you insttall 7 first, so that grub can become the boot sector.

BTW, how is this hardware related?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 12:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Putting 2 OS's on 1 HDD

Because he either needs 2 harddrives, or partion his old drive into at least 2 sections.

All relates to setting up his hardware to run a dual boot.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 02:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Putting 2 OS's on 1 HDD

He said two OS's on one HDD, patonb.

And partitioning is not hardware related.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 02:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Re: Putting 2 OS's on 1 HDD

Uh can we stop arguning about the section and just answer the question! Yes dual booting is what I am after. So I just stick the disk in and install Linux onto the partioned drive?
__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 10:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Putting 2 OS's on 1 HDD

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke127 View Post
Uh can we stop arguning about the section and just answer the question! Yes dual booting is what I am after. So I just stick the disk in and install Linux onto the partioned drive?
MoM did answer you..

Yes, just insert the disc, boot off of it, and then you can partition your drive from the Ubuntu install wizard. Make sure you select the option to install on a partition, and not the entire disk, otherwise you'll format your entire drive.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 11:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Putting 2 OS's on 1 HDD

Also make sure you back up your windows install, because youre going to have to shrink your drive to make empty space. Shrinking can, rarely, destroy the install.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 06:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Re: Putting 2 OS's on 1 HDD

How could it destroy the install?? As long as I don't shrink it to 1 GB I should be fine! I have 400 GB of free space so I will take out 100 GB accordingly
__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 10:00 AM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Putting 2 OS's on 1 HDD

Something could go wrong during the resize and corrupt the partition itself, partition table, or MBR, etc. It's just always a good idea to have important data backed up just in case something were to go wrong.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 03:23 AM   #10 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Re: Putting 2 OS's on 1 HDD

Will take this into consideration thanks Carnage.
__________________

__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Putting together an i7... Endless Josh New Systems | Building and Buying 3 02-18-2010 04:28 AM
Putting together PC hesson81 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 04-03-2009 08:04 PM
Putting it Together azstars New Systems | Building and Buying 7 03-10-2009 12:32 PM
putting itunes on an external hdd harry18 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 11-15-2006 11:00 PM
Putting 2 OS on HOW TO? matthab Microsoft Windows and Software 5 02-12-2006 08:23 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.