Put everything together but the system wont start :( - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2009, 08:36 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blue-lynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: GTA - Greater Toronto Area
Posts: 112
Default Re: Put everything together but the system wont start :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by chesirecat1701 View Post
my money is on your shorting out somewhere as said "repairman" stated.

and what he means is that some where along the line a "hot" lead (the path/wire that carries the 12v-5v input current) is touching metal in your case, why is this bad?

Because unlike a house 12v DC relies on a single path.
Ac input-> power supply-> 12v or 5v current -> (place device here) -> ground loop -> power supply

when the hot lead is touching the metal is basically the same thing as touching 2 120v AC "hot" leads together ( better known as arcing a circuit) and this can fry anything that is now touching metal, now you may not feel this when you touch you case as the PSU is active because it takes some power at 12v DC to be felt by a human.

when he said "shorting the motherboard" you probably didn't install some/all or the risers. if so you definitely need to.

Now take everything I say with a pinch of salt, I am by no means an electrician but I've dealed with enough of the simple wiring of life (both AC and DC) that I have a faint basis in electron theory.

You can troubleshoot this with a multimeter.

this is a multimeter if you didn't know.

like I said I'm no pro but it's just my $.02
Wow ! thats EXACTLY what was happening! the motherboard was touching the metal.
Anyhow the issue is resolved now. What can I do to NOT repeat this in the future?

Whats the best way to screw a motherboard inside the case? Any tutorial would be helpful.


Okay so now, I have bought and installed the Sapphire 4670 card. About to install Windows.. wanted to know if the motherboard will disable the onboard video automatically or if I'll have to do it myself.

Also, is this step AFTER installing the OS or BEfore?
__________________

blue-lynx is offline  
Old 07-28-2009, 08:47 PM   #12 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: Put everything together but the system wont start :(

You will have to disable the on board and switch to your socket manually through the BIOS. Don't think it matters if you do it after or before, your on board graphics can handle the OS installation fine. But you can do it right away so you don't forget about it later.
__________________

__________________
yzmxer608 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gOS Gadgets: An Operating System for the Google Generation Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 03-22-2009 11:50 AM
All fans start running when PC gets plugged in... SuaveLemon Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 01-12-2009 03:35 PM
Black Viper's Top tweaks for a faster PC xXxexpertxXx Overclocking and Modding 0 02-21-2008 10:04 PM
Osiris' 4 Step Spyware Removal Guide (old) Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 89 12-26-2007 06:37 PM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.