Put everything together but the system wont start :( - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2009, 03:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blue-lynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: GTA - Greater Toronto Area
Posts: 112
Default Put everything together but the system wont start :(

Guys, i just put the system together but it wont boot.

motherboard = Gigabyte MA790GP-UD4H
Power supply = Corsair VX450W

I dnt know if I have connected the power cables wrong.

the power button on the case lights up when i turn the power supply on.

but when I press the same power button to start the pc, nothing happens.

I dont know what I am doing here...

please help!
__________________

blue-lynx is offline  
Old 07-28-2009, 06:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Put everything together but the system wont start :(

Do you have:

The 4/8 pin CPU connector in? (it will be near the CPU socket)
The 20/24 pin motherboard connector in? (could be anywhere on the motherboard, likely towards the front of the case)

And stupid question but is the RAM in?
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-28-2009, 11:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blue-lynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: GTA - Greater Toronto Area
Posts: 112
Default Re: Put everything together but the system wont start :(

The Ram is in..
and so is the cpu connector...

the fan wont even start or move ...
blue-lynx is offline  
Old 07-28-2009, 12:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Running on empty.
 
chesirecat1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nicaragua
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to chesirecat1701 Send a message via MSN to chesirecat1701 Send a message via Yahoo to chesirecat1701
Default Re: Put everything together but the system wont start :(

can you give a detailed description of you system? ie: cpu, ram, vid card, etc etc?

that will help some with a diagnosis.

Now, step by step, check your connections, if they're all connected properly, does your motherboard beep?
if so look through your motherboard's manual for that code and it'll tell you the problem.

although to me it sounds like the processor wasn't installed right or even could be a lemon
(assuming the CPU is the right socket)
chesirecat1701 is offline  
Old 07-28-2009, 01:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Put everything together but the system wont start :(

Moved this to the troubleshooting section.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 07-28-2009, 03:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blue-lynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: GTA - Greater Toronto Area
Posts: 112
Default Re: Put everything together but the system wont start :(

okay so here's what happened...

i took the motherboard (gigabyte) with the cpu seated on it, plus my ram sticks to the store.

the store guy simply took out the battery and wiped it or something (cmos battery) and then with the motherboard on the table he just hooked it up to a generic power supply and touched the front panel pins with a screw driver and suddenly the cpu fan started moving full blast.

he said its all good now, maybe you had shorted the mobo.

i am puzzled, what did he mean by that?

also, i am back home with the cpu in its place just like at the store and the ram sticks in.

however.. when i hook it to my power supply (got two, one is enermax and one is corsair) its the same issue again.

the motherboard wont turn on.

could it be the powersupply?

also to be noted, the case's power led turns on when i put it my motherboard but when i hit the power switch button on the case, the motherboard wont start...


Edit: the cpu cooler wasnt plugged in right when i took it to him but after he plugged it correctly, i dint touch the cpu heatsink, just got the motherboard home.. put into the case and the same problem persists..
blue-lynx is offline  
Old 07-28-2009, 05:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Put everything together but the system wont start :(

It sounds like the power supply, yes. You're getting some juice (mobo lights) but not enough to power everything up. Regarding the heatsink, do you mean you didn't attach it to the CPU ? You definitely want to apply thermal paste and attach your heatsink. Overheating isn't good as you well know I'm sure.
oldskool is offline  
Old 07-28-2009, 06:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Running on empty.
 
chesirecat1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nicaragua
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to chesirecat1701 Send a message via MSN to chesirecat1701 Send a message via Yahoo to chesirecat1701
Default Re: Put everything together but the system wont start :(

my money is on your shorting out somewhere as said "repairman" stated.

and what he means is that some where along the line a "hot" lead (the path/wire that carries the 12v-5v input current) is touching metal in your case, why is this bad?

Because unlike a house 12v DC relies on a single path.
Ac input-> power supply-> 12v or 5v current -> (place device here) -> ground loop -> power supply

when the hot lead is touching the metal is basically the same thing as touching 2 120v AC "hot" leads together ( better known as arcing a circuit) and this can fry anything that is now touching metal, now you may not feel this when you touch you case as the PSU is active because it takes some power at 12v DC to be felt by a human.

when he said "shorting the motherboard" you probably didn't install some/all or the risers. if so you definitely need to.

Now take everything I say with a pinch of salt, I am by no means an electrician but I've dealed with enough of the simple wiring of life (both AC and DC) that I have a faint basis in electron theory.

You can troubleshoot this with a multimeter.

this is a multimeter if you didn't know.

like I said I'm no pro but it's just my $.02
chesirecat1701 is offline  
Old 07-28-2009, 06:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Put everything together but the system wont start :(

Your power switch may be dead or attached to the wrong pins

Your mobo may be grounding out if it's not in the case properly. Take it out of the case and hook it up and see if it starts. If it works you'll need to check the stand-off's for proper positioning, extra stand-off's with no corresponding mobo holes is bad. No stand-off's are bad.

Or both of your power supplies maybe bad or inadequate.

What are your complete system spec.'s?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-28-2009, 06:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Put everything together but the system wont start :(

Well you could have had a short (a second time) because of the standoffs not being installed properly, but had you in fact installed the mobo back in the chassis when you tried it a second time (when you got back home) ? You could take it back out of the chassis and recheck your standoffs. Wouldn't hurt to check again, like missing or loose ones. Make sure they are all there and tightened.

Other than that, I am still thinking PSU.

EDIT: Slaymate has a good point about the switch as well. The Radio Shack guy bypassed that switch because you had it at home in the case. So he started it that way. But a bad switch could be a reason it won't start.
__________________

oldskool is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gOS Gadgets: An Operating System for the Google Generation Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 03-22-2009 11:50 AM
All fans start running when PC gets plugged in... SuaveLemon Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 01-12-2009 03:35 PM
Black Viper's Top tweaks for a faster PC xXxexpertxXx Overclocking and Modding 0 02-21-2008 10:04 PM
Osiris' 4 Step Spyware Removal Guide (old) Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 89 12-26-2007 06:37 PM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.