PSU works in a PC and doesn't in another! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2014, 11:48 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dubai
Posts: 166
Default Re: PSU works in a PC and doesn't in another!

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeTech View Post
Remove any memory from your computer, start out with a hard drive, mouse and keyboard connected.
I want you to hit the power button, it should come on and beep at you constantly.
That indicates the system cannot find any ram, "MOTHERBOARD" is working.
Nexr put in one slot of ram, and hit the power button.
Please note what the nachine does, it should come on and turn on the screen.
If not it maybe the ram that is at fault if not test the other.
Had to give one of the PCs (PC1) to the user, so cannot test at the moment. I did this RAM test a couple of times on PC2, either with the original PSU of PC2 (FSP250-60GEN) or PSU A, and it beeped at me.

I'll have to wait for another chance to do it again. Thanks,

This kind of situation leaves you with no clue to report one of the MB or PSU as defective, and your boss will think you're not that sound technically
__________________

aimo3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 12:18 AM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: PSU works in a PC and doesn't in another!

Quote:
Originally Posted by aimo3 View Post
This kind of situation leaves you with no clue to report one of the MB or PSU as defective, and your boss will think you're not that sound technically

So what, if your boss can understand to a certain degree of what kind of a jam you are in, he'll wait for abit.
You can do 2 things to speed this up, search google for:
https://www.google.com/search?q=comp...m=122&ie=UTF-8

You might need someone to test your psu if you can't do it yourself.
Or you can look in your country for a psu tester and test it yourself.
PSU Tester: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics

I rather you test the psu, it will let you know if it maybe the culprit.
If it isn't then it may very well be a motherboard problem.
__________________

-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.