PSU toroids or caps? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2007, 09:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default PSU toroids or caps?


I've got a brand new Antec EarthWatts 500W power supply, and ever since I got it, it makes this horrid high-pitched squealing noise (up in the VERY high frequency range, it's like a dog whistle).

I'm pretty positive it's a vibrating toroid, but I want to be sure it's not a bad capacitor (they get hot, and the inside boils, thus creating the squealing noise).

Is there any way of opening the power supply so that Antec cannot tell I had it open, other than the "WARRANTY VOID IF REMOVED" sticker? If it's a vibrating toroid, all I have to do is stop the vibrating, probably with hot glue. But if it's a bad capacitor, I want to send it away for RMA.

Also, how should I discharge the PSU, and how long should I wait before opening it up?

WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 03:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
QuaziBee's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: PSU toroids or caps?

I would never recommend opening a PSU to anybody who isn't certified to do it. I can say however that some Windex and a razorblade will lift the sticker right off the side and that a safe discharge period would be anywhere between 8-24 hours depending on how much power it has been churning out before it is shutdown. HOWEVER, If I were you I would RMA it anyways so the manufacturer can chalk it up on its list of total defections. You may get a brand new one in return and its MUCH safer than trying to fiddle with a PSU yourself. Spending 5-10 days without a PSU is better than spending the next 3 weeks wearing a hear monitor because of a good jolt.

Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 09:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default Re: PSU toroids or caps?

I guess I'll have it RMA'd for Monday... Because of my location, it takes soooo long for RMA's (an example; I sent a Gigabyte board away for RMA about a month ago... It's still two provinces away).

However, I've got a spare 400W Smartpower. I guess I'll have to live with that for a month or so.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 09:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: PSU toroids or caps?

Also you can ground one of the power prongs with the ground prong and that will discharge the transformer. But you should RMA it anyway since you paid good money for it you want it right.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.