PSU question... Again. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2006, 11:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default PSU question... Again.

What a frickin' coincidence. As soon as I consider buying a new PSU, my current one starts to give out. Well. I'm not POSITIVE it's my PSU, but I'm here to verify it.

My computer just randomly reboots, but not while my CPU is loaded. Even at idle, it'll reboot. You can actually hear the PSU fan slow down and power back up again for a split second. This is all the info I have right now. Anyone think it's NOT a PSU problem, or are we all agreeing it's my generic PSU?
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 11:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

Considering that you can hear the PSU fan slow down and power back up, that must be the problem.
__________________

__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 11:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

i agree , but i dont think its hopeless , you might be able to fix it
youll need wd-40 (a spray) buy it if you dont alredy have it , if you dont have it then better power off and leave it off til youll get it (to prevent the hardware from getting fried , might be possible if it will happen several more times and the psu will boom..)

unplug the power cord from the psu, lay down the case and open it up , disconnect all power cables from the various devices/mobo and unscrew the 4 screws thats holding the psu and take it out , on top of it theres 4 little screws unscrew em amd remove the cover , then unscrew the 4 screws thats holding the fan and if its with a detachable plug then unplug it then take it out , if its soldered then just take it bit out of the psu , clean it and use bit of wd-40 see these guides
http://www.dansdata.com/fanmaint.htm
http://insight.zdnet.co.uk/hardware/...35514-2,00.htm
after puting wd-40 give it 2-3 mins to dry (and dont move the fan til the time passes..) , then put back in the psu and attach the plug to the circuit board (if it was detachable that is) and while holding the back of it start putin the screws... , anyway when done put back the cover and the screws.. , the rest is pretty obvious
jeremy is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 12:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

It can't be the PSU fan. I only replaced it less than a month ago with a high-grade noiseless Enermax fan. I really doubt the fan is causing these reboots, especially since I've had temp monitors running, and these reboots have been occuring at temps as low as 35 C.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 12:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Have you checked it with a DMM lately, or even a program, Have you added any new hardware lately?
Ste is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 02:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

huh? , make up your mind

Quote:
Originally posted by WorldIndustries
You can actually hear the PSU fan slow down and power back up again for a split second. This is all the info I have right now. Anyone think it's NOT a PSU problem, or are we all agreeing it's my generic PSU?
Quote:
Originally posted by WorldIndustries
It can't be the PSU fan. I only replaced it less than a month ago with a high-grade noiseless Enermax fan. I really doubt the fan is causing these reboots
jeremy is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 02:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

The fan isn't the problem, it's a symptom. It's how I know the PSU is shutting off and turning back on again.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 10:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

So, as for looking for a new PSU, what's a good amperage for the +12v rail? Is 18A decent?
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 10:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

for a single rail, 34+ Amps, for dual 19+ On each.

However, Everything depends on what componenst your running, I just posted the high end...
Ste is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 11:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Okay. What's that mean then? +12 and -12 is dual, right?
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.