PSU Problems? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2011, 05:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Pyrothrillah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South of you
Posts: 464
Default PSU Problems?

So I pulled some old parts and whatnot out of the closet (all new parts that were just never used) and I have come across some problems. I dressed the motherboard (placed CPU, heatsink, RAM, fans...etc) in the case plugged in my 20pin power source as well as the EZ plugs and I am getting nothing but a green light on the mobo whenever I turn the power on. No fans come on or nothing. Below are the list of parts I am using:

2 x CORSAIR 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
1 x AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+
A8R-MVP Motherboard
400w PSU - (not sure of brand)
__________________

__________________
Follow My Twitch Stream
Buy Discounted PC Games and more!
Free Amazon Prime 30-Day Trial

New build as of 3/5/2014
--------------------------
Intel Core i7-4930K Ivy Bridge-E 3.4GHz
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Corsair h100i Liquid CPU Cooler
G.SKILL RipJaws 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3 1600
ASUS Sabertooth X79 LGA 2011
Corsair 540 Case
Corsair AX850 Professional Series Modular PSU
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit for System Builders


<---- If you feel sorry for me, or either I helped you - throw me some rep :D
Pyrothrillah is offline  
Old 02-06-2011, 05:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: PSU Problems?

"dressed the motherboard" made me giggle.

Is that a 20 or 24 pin? did you put in the 4-pin? (if it has one)

Try running with one stick of RAM only.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-06-2011, 06:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Pyrothrillah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South of you
Posts: 464
Default Re: PSU Problems?

Yeah it's either a 20 or 24 pin, but it's hooked up and I haven't tried running only one stick. And yeah the four pin plug is also connected. I would think it'd at least power the fans and whatnot.
__________________
Follow My Twitch Stream
Buy Discounted PC Games and more!
Free Amazon Prime 30-Day Trial

New build as of 3/5/2014
--------------------------
Intel Core i7-4930K Ivy Bridge-E 3.4GHz
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Corsair h100i Liquid CPU Cooler
G.SKILL RipJaws 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3 1600
ASUS Sabertooth X79 LGA 2011
Corsair 540 Case
Corsair AX850 Professional Series Modular PSU
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit for System Builders


<---- If you feel sorry for me, or either I helped you - throw me some rep :D
Pyrothrillah is offline  
Old 02-06-2011, 08:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Pyrothrillah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South of you
Posts: 464
Default Re: PSU Problems?

Connected a power switch to the board, it will only jump the fans a little bit and then will do nothing unless I turn the PSU off and back on.

I'm not sure if maybe the mother board has a short in it or what. I've nearly racked my brain over messing with this thing.
__________________
Follow My Twitch Stream
Buy Discounted PC Games and more!
Free Amazon Prime 30-Day Trial

New build as of 3/5/2014
--------------------------
Intel Core i7-4930K Ivy Bridge-E 3.4GHz
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Corsair h100i Liquid CPU Cooler
G.SKILL RipJaws 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3 1600
ASUS Sabertooth X79 LGA 2011
Corsair 540 Case
Corsair AX850 Professional Series Modular PSU
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit for System Builders


<---- If you feel sorry for me, or either I helped you - throw me some rep :D
Pyrothrillah is offline  
Old 02-06-2011, 09:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: PSU Problems?

Asus boards are VERY picky on ram.... My 650i wouldn't run with the balistix i had and stumped me for days.

Does the psu fan power up?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-06-2011, 10:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Pyrothrillah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South of you
Posts: 464
Default Re: PSU Problems?

Nope, PSU fan won't even come on. It's acting like a short is in it somehow being that it is only bumping the fans if I hook up a power switch to it.
__________________
Follow My Twitch Stream
Buy Discounted PC Games and more!
Free Amazon Prime 30-Day Trial

New build as of 3/5/2014
--------------------------
Intel Core i7-4930K Ivy Bridge-E 3.4GHz
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Corsair h100i Liquid CPU Cooler
G.SKILL RipJaws 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3 1600
ASUS Sabertooth X79 LGA 2011
Corsair 540 Case
Corsair AX850 Professional Series Modular PSU
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit for System Builders


<---- If you feel sorry for me, or either I helped you - throw me some rep :D
Pyrothrillah is offline  
Old 02-06-2011, 10:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: PSU Problems?

Take the psu out, and jump it...... it looks like it is the psu.

How To: Jump Start A Power Supply (PSU) / Test A Power Supply And Components - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-06-2011, 10:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Pyrothrillah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South of you
Posts: 464
Default Re: PSU Problems?

Just jumped green to black with a wire, it's now running the fan after a few hits. I plugged the PSU back to the mobo and it's now running the fans a little bit longer, but not very long.

Of course now I am running the motherboard outside of the case on my desk.

EDIT: To clarify that garbage, the jump test works, it fires up the fan on the CPU, but after plugging in the main power cord to the motherboard, it cuts out after maybe 3-4 seconds of running. Maybe a short in the mobo?

Also to note, that I have a power switch end cut off and wired together because the motherboard will not come on even a little bit like it is doing now unless I have this dummy switch set up.
__________________
Follow My Twitch Stream
Buy Discounted PC Games and more!
Free Amazon Prime 30-Day Trial

New build as of 3/5/2014
--------------------------
Intel Core i7-4930K Ivy Bridge-E 3.4GHz
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Corsair h100i Liquid CPU Cooler
G.SKILL RipJaws 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3 1600
ASUS Sabertooth X79 LGA 2011
Corsair 540 Case
Corsair AX850 Professional Series Modular PSU
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit for System Builders


<---- If you feel sorry for me, or either I helped you - throw me some rep :D
Pyrothrillah is offline  
Old 02-07-2011, 03:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: PSU Problems?

Try swaping a different PSU onto the board, I wanna think the PSU is shot because of this.

Quote:
Just jumped green to black with a wire, it's now running the fan after a few hits. I plugged the PSU back to the mobo and it's now running the fans a little bit longer, but not very long.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-07-2011, 11:44 AM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: PSU Problems?

Me too Corrosive...
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia drivers, Boot problems, restart problems all related????? FastNOT Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 02-12-2008 06:18 AM
java.util.zip problems (ZIP Problems) KornNut Linux and Open Source 2 08-03-2006 03:07 PM
problems with laptop & problems with router hutchygers Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 05-03-2006 04:19 PM
Problems with computer startup. Video problems? I'm not sure RodrigoKim Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 11-08-2005 01:44 PM
Problems w/ loading windows and problems w/ usb audio28 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 02-17-2004 04:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.