PSU Problem? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-07-2010, 12:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Default PSU Problem?

Hi I recently built new PC with the below:

Quad Core Phenom II
PNY GTX 460 1GB (Performance Edition)
1 Sata Hard Drive
2 Sticks of 2GB RAM
1 DVD Drive
3 x 120mm Case fans
1 Hantol 550 W PSU (http://www.peats.com/cgi-bin/catalog...uct=1&id=27237)

I play a lot of World of Warcraft which works fine but I recently downloaded Mafia Wars II just to test out the Graphics card and I find that after a few minutes of action the PSU cuts out and I cannot start the PC back up until I remove the mains supply and reinsert. The PSU was cheap but I thought that because it was a 550W it would be fine. Before I go buy a new one can anyone confirm that it is most likely a PSU problem?

Thanks in Advance.
__________________

Kilbarrack is offline  
Old 11-07-2010, 03:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: PSU Problem?

Sounds like a psu issue even if it wasn't I would tell you you need to get another psu before you hurt your system. PSU's are the one place if any that you don't want to buy cheap because they can ruin everything.

My suggestion. Kill the system. Don't use it while that PSU is in it because I'd hate to see you short your mobo.
I would suggest this.
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 11-07-2010, 04:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: PSU Problem?

Seconded. You don't want to kill your whole system. I've seen bad stuff happen..
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-08-2010, 11:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: PSU Problem?

Thanks
Kilbarrack is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with ASUS Modem Router, ADSL Cable problem GRANTA Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 6 04-06-2010 05:45 AM
windowns reinstall-video card problem-ram problem fidelitycrisis Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-02-2006 05:25 PM
Firefox problem help! most likely an easy problem! Powerslave Internet Software and Browsers 1 05-16-2006 11:31 AM
Problem loading on dark age of camelot...maybe a ram problem? LightingBird PC Gaming 0 03-08-2005 11:49 AM
Hard drive problem? or cable problem? untruehero Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 08-18-2004 08:56 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.