PSU for a powerful PC..? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2005, 12:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Question PSU for a powerful PC..?

im not sure on a PSU for these specs (havent purchased parts yet, but if everything goes right..i wanna make sure it doesnt die on me)

AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego
Asus A8V Deluxe Socket 939
ATI Radeon x850XT AGP
OCZ Gold Series 1GB (512MBx2) PC3200
WD Raptor 74GB 10,000RPM

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153011
would that PSU power those PC parts listed above.. and i dont wanna spend a mass amount on the PSU, none of that $200 stuff...
__________________

__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 12:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default

480w is good enough...but if you want to upgrade..you might consider a 500w or higher
__________________

__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 12:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default

well i wasnt sure.. cuz ive read some stuff, and some 500Watts arent what they are said to be, the arent made with good quality.. but ive heard that the Thermaltake that i put a link to is pretty good quality.. but wasnt sure if it would support or not.. id like to have a 500watt PSU, that is a good quality one and would actually last n what not.
__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 12:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default

i have to say though..that PSU above is really good...480w will hold you fine...but just incase you want to upgrade in the future then you might consider larger...you also have to remember that you'll also be powering your opticle drives as well as hard drives
__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 01:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default

look at this 600w PSU http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...25#DetailSpecs
__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 01:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103933

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103932

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817194001

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103940

anything with a brand name, antec, OCZ, enermax, and with nice AMPS on the +12 +5 and +3.3V and perferably dual +12V or even triple
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 05:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default

well all those are for PCI-E/SLi.. im usin AGP, so those wont work..
__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 05:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default

nah it will still work...thats just incase you're using a SLI board with PCI-E
__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 07:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default

but the main connector is 24 pin.. thats not gonna fit in a 20 pin .. unless my math is off...
__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 09:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default

they make 24 to 20 pin converters...but that might be impracticle
__________________

__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.