PSU or Mobo - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2009, 11:59 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: PSU or Mobo

ok I tried the switch and still nothing happens. I called MSI and they told me to take out the mobo and and try it with only the processor and CPU cooler on and then jump it. Still nothing. Lastly they told me that it could be a dead processor. If the processor is dead would it keep any of the fans from spinning up? I dont have another pc around with the 775 socket to test the processor with. So im still a bit stuck although the mobo is still under warranty.
Trevon
BTW thanks to everyone for all the help so far.
__________________

Trevon is offline  
Old 07-23-2009, 08:01 PM   #12 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: PSU or Mobo

It seems to me then that maybe returning the mobo is in order, since it is still under warranty.
__________________

oldskool is offline  
Old 07-23-2009, 09:00 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: PSU or Mobo

A dead cpu could keep it from doing anything. But a dead cpu isn't likely, I'd go for the mobo 1st. Just tell them you checked the cpu in your neighbors PC if they challange you
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-24-2009, 03:09 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
moshkid213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 84
Send a message via AIM to moshkid213
Default Re: PSU or Mobo

I believe power would still kick on if the processor was shot.
__________________
AMD Phenom 9950 Agena @ 2.6GHz - DDR2 G.SKILL 4GB 1066Mhz (Next paycheck 8gb) - Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB - GeForce GTX 260 Core Edition Core 216 -

Gateway FX P-7811 (Yes, I have the lockup issue :()

-Lifes simple, you make choices and you dont look back.-
"A good plan, violently executed now, is better than a perfect plan next week."
General George S. Patton
moshkid213 is offline  
Old 07-24-2009, 01:31 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: PSU or Mobo

OK guys Ill do that. Ill send it back in to MSI. Ill post if thats the problem when I get it back in a few weeks. And again thx to oldskool and slaymate for the ideas.
Trevon
Trevon is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 07:40 PM   #16 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: PSU or Mobo

Good luck, let us know
__________________

oldskool is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will this PSU work? 1mike System Upgrades 17 07-10-2009 05:56 PM
Need CPU, Mobo, and Ram Blackmoore System Upgrades 2 04-23-2009 04:07 PM
2 Quick Questions... PSU & Mobo myowngod New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-05-2009 11:41 AM
how to diagnose blown psu, or, undiagnose it. drewjustforyou System Upgrades 9 01-04-2009 07:03 PM
strange power problem: no boot, LED flicker, angry floppy drive AskMeAboutRNA Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-04-2008 08:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.