PSU or Mobo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-17-2009, 05:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Exclamation PSU or Mobo

Yesterday I unhooked my pc to work on a friends machine. When I was done I plugged everything back in but when I pressed the power button nothing happened. I built this machine about a year and a half ago and havent had any problems. I took out an old PSU and plugged it into the mobo and still nothing. No fans will come on. No sounds, beeps or anything only a single light is lit on the mobo and it turns off when the PSU is unplugged. I double checked the front panel connectors to see if the power sw had come out but they all appear to be seated correctly. Is it th PSU or Mobo or something else?
Here are my specs.
Mobo: MSI P6n SLI Platinum
PSU: Thermaltake 700w Toughpower
VId: ATI 3870x2 saphire
Mem: 4 gigs Corsair XMS
__________________

Trevon is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 06:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: PSU or Mobo

Does the power supply have an on/off switch? Is the cpu fan plugged in? Reseat the main 20 or 24 pin connector. Unplug the drives one at a time to see if one of them is shorting the system. Try clearing the CMOS.

It could be either one of them. Try your power supply in your friends PC, that will tell you if it's good or not.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 08:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: PSU or Mobo

Yes it has an on/off switch tried it both ways. Cpu fan is plugged in, check. Reset the 24 pin, check. Unplugged the drives and ran the least amount of hardware, check. Cleared Cmos, check. When I tried another PSU in my machine had same problem, but I only had the 24pin plugged in and the 8 pin on the mobo.
Trevon is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 08:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: PSU or Mobo

Broken switch or switch wire maybe ? You could unhook the connector from the switch to the mobo and jumper a screwdriver across the power on pins on the mobo with the power already off to see if it will start up. That would bypass the switch and let you know if the mobo is ok to power up and might single out the switch or switch wire(s) as a possible problem. Just an idea.
oldskool is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 08:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: PSU or Mobo

If it's not the switch then I'm betting on the mobo.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 08:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: PSU or Mobo

I agree, and thats why I mentioned the switch. Easy enough of a fix if all that it is is the switch.
oldskool is offline  
Old 07-18-2009, 11:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Default

ok gonna try this morning.

I just put my PSU in an old PC and the fans kicked on HD started spinning up. So that appears to be good. Im going to check the switch next to see if its that before I ship the Mobo back to MSI.
Trevon
Trevon is offline  
Old 07-18-2009, 01:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: PSU or Mobo

Ok, sounds good. Keep us posted.
oldskool is offline  
Old 07-18-2009, 03:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: PSU or Mobo

I've had this problem before, the problem could be that there is not enough pressure between the Processor and the Motherboard. In short Tighten down the Heatsink and see if it works.
Tokyo Bebop is offline  
Old 07-18-2009, 05:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: PSU or Mobo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tokyo Bebop View Post
I've had this problem before, the problem could be that there is not enough pressure between the Processor and the Motherboard. In short Tighten down the Heatsink and see if it works.
I find that unlikely; how do you suppose that occured?
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will this PSU work? 1mike System Upgrades 17 07-10-2009 05:56 PM
Need CPU, Mobo, and Ram Blackmoore System Upgrades 2 04-23-2009 04:07 PM
2 Quick Questions... PSU & Mobo myowngod New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-05-2009 11:41 AM
how to diagnose blown psu, or, undiagnose it. drewjustforyou System Upgrades 9 01-04-2009 07:03 PM
strange power problem: no boot, LED flicker, angry floppy drive AskMeAboutRNA Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-04-2008 08:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.