PSU Graphics Card Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2011, 10:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 16
Default PSU Graphics Card Problem

Hi there everyone, new member here.

I recently brought a new PC which arrived last week. My specs are:

AMD Phenom II X2 560 Black Edition
Windows 7 home Premium
8GB DDR3 RAM
500GB S-ATAII 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
Atx 12v 2.0 500W PSU

My problem is that I'm trying to instal a XFX HD4870 graphics card into my system. The guide says it needs two 6pin PCI power cables. In the box there are 2: 6pic PCI to two 4 pin Such as these

However, I only have a single 4 pin cable available.

Would I be able to use three of These to create the necessary four 4pin connections? Or is there another way I can connect my card.

Thanks a lot

Reaper
__________________

imm0rtal reaper is offline  
Old 04-20-2011, 10:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: PSU Graphics Card Problem

What is the make and model of that power supply?

And no, that would definitely not be a good idea - it work, though only in the sense that you will have it plugged it in. It's very unlikely your power supply is designed to send enough power over the 4-pin Molex connectors to power a GPU.

Until you give us the make and model of the PSU (power supply unit), I can tell you that you'll probably need to replace the power supply with one that has enough PCI-E 6-pins.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 04-20-2011, 11:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 16
Default Re: PSU Graphics Card Problem

I just opened the case up and the only information on the PSU was ATX-500.

After a quick google search: This looks like the one in my PC.
imm0rtal reaper is offline  
Old 04-20-2011, 11:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: PSU Graphics Card Problem

Ah, so it's a generic unbranded one. In that case, you'll definitely have to replace it - it won't be able to supply enough power for an HD4870.

What's your budget for a replacement?
Here's the best I could find that would suit your needs (decent enough quality, and has 2*6-pin PCI-E plugs).
http://www.ebuyer.com/product/265705

The quote in my signature is situations like these, btw.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 04-20-2011, 11:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: PSU Graphics Card Problem

Yeah, you need an updated PSU. This one is quite old, to have a 20+4 plug, and only one 4-pin.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-20-2011, 11:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 16
Default Re: PSU Graphics Card Problem

The one in the link you provided is about the extent of my budget. I may be abel to squeeze up to £60 but that would be it.

Thanks for the link, and the sig is too true.

how difficult is it to replace PSUs ?
imm0rtal reaper is offline  
Old 04-20-2011, 11:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: PSU Graphics Card Problem

Rather simple. Unhook all cables. 4 screws on the back of your case. remove from case, put new in, screw, connect, fire that baby up.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-20-2011, 11:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: PSU Graphics Card Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by imm0rtal reaper View Post
The one in the link you provided is about the extent of my budget. I may be abel to squeeze up to £60 but that would be it.
The I linked will be just enough, with a little bit of headroom for future upgrades. You could spend up to £60, but that's not really necessary.

Quote:
how difficult is it to replace PSUs ?
You just unplug all the cables that lead from the PSU, then unscrew it from the case, and reverse the process with the new one If you're capable of plugging in an HD4870, then you should be even more capable of replacing the PSU. If you need any help with it you can always ask here again.
Edit: Lol, MoM ninja'd me with a more precise explanation.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 04-20-2011, 11:30 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 16
Default Re: PSU Graphics Card Problem

Cheers for all the help guys. Looks like I'll have to wait until my next student loan goes through (start of May) to upgrade the PSU.

No Crysis for me until then
imm0rtal reaper is offline  
Old 04-23-2011, 04:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 16
Default Re: PSU Graphics Card Problem

Hey guys, would THIS power the graphics card and how would it compare to the coolmaster?
__________________

imm0rtal reaper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphics Card Problem qblake Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 12-23-2009 06:06 PM
graphics card problem xargon Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 07-28-2007 03:14 PM
Graphics anomaly, but not graphics card problem parsona Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 10-12-2006 01:15 PM
Problem with graphics card? will h4x 4 food Overclocking and Modding 1 06-22-2006 06:45 PM
Graphics card problem Crockpot System Upgrades 10 01-29-2006 07:43 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.