PSU / Graphics card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-01-2005, 10:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 417
Default PSU / Graphics card

Hey, I have a wee situation.

The thing is,a few days ago i learned that a 6800GT here in the UK is the same price as a 7800GT there in the US.

I also have a psu, only 380W, tagan (good make in britain), but I could get the 535W enermax whisper for that price ~ its crazy.

I bought my pc components from overclockers.co.uk about 2 months ago, the thing is, like I said, UK prices are crazy.

(This company is pretty much the biggest in UK)

I know this sounds funny, nasty, but here it goes.

I want to see if i could return my graphics card and psu, and say they are faulty. Hopefully, I will recieve a full refund, and then I could buy the 7800GT from Tigerdirect (the only place I have seen that ship to UK from the US) and also the psu.

The thing is, this company is quite stingy, and if you would, strict with this stuff.

If you could, do you think you could give me a few reasons of why a psu and gfx card would get messed up together?

I am going to try to phone them tomorrow, so I need a good reason.

Heck, if I can make my pc better, by getting a 535W enermax whisper, and the 7800GT, for the SAME price as I bought my 6800GT and 380W psu for (which hasnt dropped since 2 months when I bought), Ill do it.

Anyway, long post, very sorry.

Cheers If you can help.

ps, pmed a few people, and they gave some good replies,

Nubius ~


why don't you simply short each of them out, then
> they WILL be faulty.
>
> PSU just say the voltages are unstable and causing
> random reboots.
>
> Graphics card you'd need to say you see lines across
> the screen, but if they
> test it you're kind of screwed...you could take a
> pencil and put a nice
> layer of graphite on random resistors on the card
> which would add resistance
> thus changing the power flow, then it WOULD be
> screwing up


Would this do it? I really need something that would give me a solid reason, I only have 1 chance, and I cant mess up my graphics card and have them rejecting it, leaving me with a messed up card.



Anyway, if you could give a solid reason and something I could do cause they will test them back at their comp store, i need them internaly fked, i would appreciate the help !

Cheers again !
__________________

Xiahou is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 12:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 417
Default

Ok,

im definately going to say that the PSU is causing random reboots, im sure I will get refunded for that.

The graphics card i still dont know yet !
__________________

Xiahou is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 01:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

heh, find something to generate a static charge on and just kill the damn card. Although Nubs idea sounds interesting to try.
Sui is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 05:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 417
Default

yeah, might even try that, cheers.
Xiahou is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.