PSU frame? how do i get around it? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2008, 08:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 80
Default PSU frame? how do i get around it?

Alright, i want to replace my PSU with a better one. My friend had installed my first PSU a while ago, but now he moved and we don't talk anymore.


Now heres the problem, there is a frame around the PSU. How do i get around this frame? I tried unscrewing the first 4 screws that you initially unscrew to get the PSU out, then tried jiggling and shaking the frame out of place. It moved, but it didn't work. then i tried removing some other screws that were around the general area of the frame, then jiggled and shaked the frame again, still nothing.


I saw a hinge on the frame, so i tried lifting the side opposite to the the hinge, nothing again.


can someone help me out here? Any help would be appreciated ( Just don't say get a new case or anything like that, I don't have the time or money for that just yet).
__________________

VistaGamer is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 09:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: PSU frame? how do i get around it?

Post pics. Cant help without at least seeing what you are talking about...
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 09:14 PM   #3 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: PSU frame? how do i get around it?

If it is one of the larger 800W+ ones many cases don't support them. Normally you need to get a full tower.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 09:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 80
Default Re: PSU frame? how do i get around it?

I probably won't be able to get A picture too soon. All i can really say is that the PSU is located at the top of the case, with some sort of support box around it, and it's is fastened on to the Case by something, possibly some screws.

Any general ideas might help.


Also, it's only a 650W, and the case is ATX


EDIT: Here's the pics i could only find

Newegg.com - HP Pavilion a6000n(RX885AA) Athlon 64 X2 4200+ 1GB DDR2 250GB NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE Windows Vista Home Premium - Desktop PCs


Look at the inside of the computer pictures... the thing with the yellow warning sticker is the frame.
VistaGamer is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 11:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 80
Default Re: PSU frame? how do i get around it?

Nevermind, I am a retard. Turns out there was a latch to get the thing out of place.


Thanks for the help. sorry for wasting you time, burn this thread if you want.
VistaGamer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PSU Trouble! Flipip Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-24-2008 04:19 PM
Upside-Down PSU Crazydog115 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 04-14-2008 12:57 PM
Question regarding mini ITX and recommended PSU 96300NAZ New Systems | Building and Buying 0 12-16-2007 10:29 PM
Psu Redmo0n System Upgrades 6 12-15-2007 11:35 PM
In Depth PSU Guide: Please Read. Oreo New Systems | Building and Buying 18 10-13-2007 11:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.