PSU driving me nuts. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2007, 12:24 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 15
Default Re: PSU driving me nuts.

The raid thing said that before my previous psu died anyways. I'm gonna have another go tonight after work, will try the paperclip test and hope for the best.
__________________

Anzacky is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 01:56 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: PSU driving me nuts.

Good luck mate, I had this problem once.
__________________

__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 02:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 15
Default Re: PSU driving me nuts.

UPDATE: Just done the paperclip test and the psu fan was working, this is good news is it not? Just wondered what the next step would be. I wonder if i'm pluggin everything in that needs pluggin in. The 20+4 pins are attached my dvd drives are attached my hd is attached, fans attached, floppy drives ok, am i missing anything?
Anzacky is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 03:49 PM   #14 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: PSU driving me nuts.

check if your CPu needs a separate 4 pin connector and see if its connected
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 08:39 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 15
Default Re: PSU driving me nuts.

Have checked my cpu, seems fine. My old psu used the extra 4 pins and i have since tried it with and without the +4pins. Could I have knackered my mobo when i took it out to get access to the screws to remove my old psu eg static?
Anzacky is offline  
Old 09-18-2007, 08:13 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 15
Default Re: PSU driving me nuts.

AAARRRGGGHHH i give up, i'm gonna take it to a techie, this doesn't bode well for when i start to build my monster pc.
__________________

Anzacky is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VCore won't go above 1.41v?? Is it my PSU? Alexinator Overclocking and Modding 8 09-10-2007 12:50 AM
High Pitched Screech from PSU on first boot Sardonic New Systems | Building and Buying 14 09-08-2007 05:39 PM
upgrade on GPU, CPU, PSU kur0suto New Systems | Building and Buying 31 09-06-2007 03:57 PM
huH? PSU huH? SHaTTaFaKKaP New Systems | Building and Buying 10 09-06-2007 08:48 AM
Backwards driving car!!! HAHAHA H4x3r Off Topic Discussion 0 05-26-2007 12:08 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.