PSU driving me nuts. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2007, 11:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 15
Default PSU driving me nuts.

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie when it comes to building and repairing pcs except for installing ram and gfx cards, and yesterday I bought a new PSU as I was having trouble with my old one. Anyways so I took the old one out carefully, installed the new one, as far as I know I think I got it right. When the moment of truth came I switched everything on and noticed the keyboard lights flash as they usually do (capslock and numlock) but when I switched the power button, NOTHING. No fan, no boot, no angels singin. Anyone have any idea? Please help.
__________________

Anzacky is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 11:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: PSU driving me nuts.

Anzacky


So absolutely nothing happens, when you press the power button? Well first of all, you really have to make sure and double check, that the connections are correct and tight. And you have to make sure the front panel wires are connected properly, especially the POWER SW wire. If that's not properly connected, the system won't boot up.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 11:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 15
Default Re: PSU driving me nuts.

The power button on the front panel was working fine before i put the new psu in. As for the connections being tight i've checked and double checked them. I don't think the psu is dodgy as there is power getting to the keyboard or am I wrong about that?
Anzacky is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 11:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: PSU driving me nuts.

But when you turned the computer on, did any fans spin? Like the power supply fan, or CPU fan?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 11:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 15
Default Re: PSU driving me nuts.

No fans nothing at all.
Anzacky is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 12:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: PSU driving me nuts.

HOw much watts is your new PSU?
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 12:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: PSU driving me nuts.

Try jumping the power supply, to see if it's defective.

To jump the power supply, disconnect it from the components, and just connect the case fans. Also disconnect the power cord from the outlet, and turn off the power supply button. Take a paper clip, and bend it into a U shape. Next, stick one end into the green pin or wire of the 24-pin main power connector. Then stick the other end into any black pin or wire, on the main power connector. Then turn on the power supply, to see if the fans spin. If they don't, something is wrong with the power supply.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 12:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 15
Default Re: PSU driving me nuts.

The power supply is 700watts
Anzacky is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 12:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 15
Default Re: PSU driving me nuts.

One thing that was concerning me was the psu says its a SATA psu, now i'm pretty sure that my hard drives are SATA but in my bios it was saying not enough drives for a raid array, is this relevant? if my HD are ide is this a factor? Will try the paper clip trick though.
Anzacky is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 12:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: PSU driving me nuts.

The RAID array isn't relevant to this issue, since it looks like you're not trying to set that up.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VCore won't go above 1.41v?? Is it my PSU? Alexinator Overclocking and Modding 8 09-10-2007 12:50 AM
High Pitched Screech from PSU on first boot Sardonic New Systems | Building and Buying 14 09-08-2007 05:39 PM
upgrade on GPU, CPU, PSU kur0suto New Systems | Building and Buying 31 09-06-2007 03:57 PM
huH? PSU huH? SHaTTaFaKKaP New Systems | Building and Buying 10 09-06-2007 08:48 AM
Backwards driving car!!! HAHAHA H4x3r Off Topic Discussion 0 05-26-2007 12:08 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.