Psu blown system - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2006, 11:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351
Default Psu blown system

right, i built a comp for a friend and the psu blew , took the ram and the mobo with it,, ive a temp system for him set up but i need to know will 280 watt psu be enough for a 3ghz 478 socket p4 presscot,,,, the comp has 1 hd, a dvd burner and 2 fans, its only for a week or 2 but i dont want it blowing,,please reply asap
__________________

__________________
E6300 Core 2 Duo
GA-965P-DS3
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 01:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 18
Default

I don't think 280 is enough... is there an external card too? p-4 systems normally have 350psu.
__________________

frankd14321 is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 02:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

go here to find out how much watts ur running:
http://www.extreme.outervision.com/psucalculator.jsp
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 08:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

i would go for a 300-350w psu for that setup.
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 08:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438
Default

i think that would be sufficient for a short time maybe even long term if u dont have a graphics card or any other things of that nature a 280 would be fine to hold u over
__________________
Q6600@ 3.0ghz
eVGA 680i A1
4x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800
2x8800gt xFx
Coolermaster Stacker 830
an51r is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 09:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

wow. i got a 140w on a system that needs 300. insane.

well go for a 350-450w system
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.