PSU Blew - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2012, 03:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 181
Default PSU Blew

I was in the middle of a MW 3 match when I heard a loud popping sound and my computer turned off. I also smelled something that reminded me of a fried power supply and when I tried turning on the computer again, no response. So as the topic says, I'm pretty sure my 700W OCZ Modular PSU blew, and I would like some recommendations for a new one, preferably 800W or higher for a reasonable price. The rest of my PC's specs are as followed:

Mobo: Rampage Formula III ATX
CPU: Intel Core i7 3.4GHZ (4 pronged power port on Mobo)
Ram: 8 GB G.Skill
GPU: EVGA GeForce 580GTX
HDDs: 4 SATA
DVD: 2 SATA
Chassis/Case: Cooler Master HAF X

Anyone familiar with the HAF X case knows how many molex connectors there are for all the extra fans so if you could keep that in mind when recommending a PSU to make sure it will have enough Molex connectors to power at least 4 of the case fans, that would be wonderful. Thank you for all the help, it's always appreciated.
__________________

Curbkiddytech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 03:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: PSU Blew

Here's one with a rebate and a promo code.

Newegg.com - PC Power and Cooling Silencer 910W High Performance 80PLUS Silver SLI CrossFire ready Power Supply

$150, w/$20 rebate, 10% off w/ promo code PSUMAY10, ends 6/10

PC Power & Cooling is top of the top.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 04:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: PSU Blew

Your wattage is fine and you don't need anymore. You need a quality PSU.

Get anything Corsair, Thermaltake, or Antec 650+.

Trotter, few years ago I would totally agree with you, but OCZ bought them out and they build OCZ PSUs.. His PSU is an OCZ....yea.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 04:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: PSU Blew

Chevy vs Cadillac, mate.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 05:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 181
Default Re: PSU Blew

Hey Trotter thanks for the link, very much considering the PSU but I couldn't quite tell if it had any molex connectors on it. Can you clarify if it does and how many? Also will the cables be long enough to reach everything from the bottom of the case to the top? The HAF X case is much larger than even I thought and my CPU power cable almost didn't reach with the last PSU. Just wanna be sure it's got everything I need before we commit to the purchase.

I also prefer modular PSU's but I'll make an exception if you think this one is worth it.
Curbkiddytech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 04:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Re: PSU Blew

Generally if Trotter says buy this, you buy it lol. He's probably the most knowledgeable person on the forum when it comes to parts. (No offence intended if I am wrong!)
__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: PSU Blew

Luke, Any of us could have suggested that. Just Trotter got it first. :P

OP, it will work just fine for you.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: PSU Blew

Quote:
Originally Posted by Curbkiddytech View Post
Hey Trotter thanks for the link, very much considering the PSU but I couldn't quite tell if it had any molex connectors on it. Can you clarify if it does and how many? Also will the cables be long enough to reach everything from the bottom of the case to the top? The HAF X case is much larger than even I thought and my CPU power cable almost didn't reach with the last PSU. Just wanna be sure it's got everything I need before we commit to the purchase.

I also prefer modular PSU's but I'll make an exception if you think this one is worth it.
You can check the specs out from the manufactures web site
http://www.pcpower.com/downloads/PPC...awing_3875.pdf
Their mechanical drawing on the .pdf for this power supply shows that the 24 pin cable is 20" long (1)
Sata is 43" at it's longest point (12)
4/8 and cpu and 6/8 pcie video is 23" (two of each)
molex ide is 39" (7)
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 04:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Re: PSU Blew

Oh. Well Trotter generally does get to things when he wants to lol.
__________________

__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help, PSU blew up DJ EndurancE Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 12-20-2009 04:30 PM
It finally blew up! bmxfreakrider New Systems | Building and Buying 15 03-12-2009 01:12 AM
b1, my computer blew up...what do I do? nu2duo Overclocking and Modding 26 06-20-2007 11:23 AM
Psu Blew Out? gust_nul Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 17 10-06-2005 01:01 PM
Mobo blew jrdwstfll Overclocking and Modding 24 07-10-2005 01:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.