PSU to blame? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2008, 02:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 24
Default PSU to blame?

Hey guys, just installed some upgarades, and afterwards my PC would boot up, run for about twenty seconds, then just shut off. I'm pretty sure this is because of my PSU just not being up to the job, but I wanted to make sure it's not something else before I spring for a new PSU.

Here are my specs:

PSU: Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-620HX 620W ATX12V v2.2 and EPS12V 2.91 SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies

Nvidia 750i Mobo
Two 8800gt's in SLI
Intel Q6600 Quad-Core
8Gb Corsair Dominator RAM

Any replies would be awesome.

EDIT: Shutting down fixed, now getting a hard drive failure (bios won't recognize either of my IDE hard drives)
__________________

Scionix is offline  
Old 12-25-2008, 03:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: PSU to blame?

That power supply should be enough. Try running memtest, that should do two things 1) rule out OS/ software issue 2) rule out RAM
__________________

__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 12-25-2008, 03:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmote View Post
That power supply should be enough. Try running memtest, that should do two things 1) rule out OS/ software issue 2) rule out RAM
Er, how does one run memtest? >.>

EDIT: Switched out ram, no luck. My processor/motherboard are also freshly put in, so that also might be an issue.

Well, good news and bad news. Good news is, I've fixed the shutting down (I think my CPU fan was loose). Bad news is, now the motherboard won't recognize my hard drives in the SATA slots

Any ideas? The 750i has this thing where you can go into BIOS and hit enter in the IDE slot your HD is in and it will detect it, but It won't recognize either of my HD's >.>

Any ideas?
Scionix is offline  
Old 12-26-2008, 08:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: PSU to blame?

Perhaps the fact that it's not IDE?
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
260GTX and another hard drive on my 460W PSU? jamaicaska New Systems | Building and Buying 7 12-07-2008 07:48 AM
Office PC PSU Dead? Merkwürdigeliebe Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-24-2008 07:58 PM
PSU Trouble! Flipip Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-24-2008 04:19 PM
Question regarding mini ITX and recommended PSU 96300NAZ New Systems | Building and Buying 0 12-16-2007 10:29 PM
Psu Redmo0n System Upgrades 6 12-15-2007 11:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.