PS3 --> Asus MW221U - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2007, 06:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default PS3 --> Asus MW221U

Hey guys,
The answer to this question will depend on whether i get a ps3 or not...

I have an Asus MW221U 22" widescreen monitor which is compatible with dual dvi. Now obviously one DVI port is used for my graphics card, I was wondering if I could use the other to connect to my PS3. Now I know the PS3 uses HDMI connections and I also know there is a cable out there which has a HDMI connection on one end and a DVI on the other. But since HDMI carries both audio and visual and DVI only visual, where do I pick the audio up from?

OR.. is it possible to get a cable which goes from HDMI and splits into both DVI and component audio at the other end? (Since I'm running my speakers through my stereo), the only problem with the audio solution is that whenever I want to play my PS3 I have to go and swap the audio connections.

Thanks for your help guys.

**EDIT**

I have just read on another forum that you can do it by just buying a DVI --> HDMI converter cable (This will work only if your monitor supports HDCP (Which mine does), but I'm still a bit clueless of where the audio gets picked up from? My monitor does have speakers on it, so maybe the audio signal will go straight into that? If so.. Then I'd have to run a 3.5mm --> x2 RCA to put the audio back into my stereo, but then I still have the problem of having to switch the audio cables everytime I want to play.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 02:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default Re: PS3 --> Asus MW221U

*** BUMP *** anyone?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 02:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: PS3 --> Asus MW221U

I think thats the only option.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 03:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: PS3 --> Asus MW221U

no audio will travel through that cable due to just video information being sent from the GFX card. The best way to move the audio signal is through an optical sound cable most modern AV equipment has an Optical connection.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 05:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default Re: PS3 --> Asus MW221U

By optical you mean digital right?
I'm only using my onboard soundcard off the back of my motherboard (in my sig), i find it fairly good. It does have a digital port on it. When you say it wont carry any audio due to the gfx card, it will be running straight from the PS3 to the monitor... the other DVI will be running from the monitor to the computer. How would I manage to switch between the two? say if I wanted to use the computer, and then later on, want to play some PS3, would I have to disconnect the respective DVI's to play?

Is it also possible to run component audio from the PS3 to my stereo? or would that conflict with the audio running in the HDMI?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS board with Embedded Linux. P5E3 X38 Ronnie New Systems | Building and Buying 0 10-07-2007 12:53 PM
MSI 8400GS + ASUS K8V-VM upgrade ohGrFreak System Upgrades 1 09-28-2007 09:53 AM
ASUS Announces Hardware Based Real-time Overclocking Device Osiris Overclocking and Modding 2 07-06-2007 11:44 AM
getting the Asus P5B Deluxe... pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-02-2007 01:53 PM
Gigabyte M61PM-S2 vs ASUS M2N-MX Javidon New Systems | Building and Buying 5 05-09-2007 08:02 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.