PS2 Not Detected... so what? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2008, 07:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 113
Default PS2 Not Detected... so what?

Hi - everytime I boot up my PC, when it checks for all of the devices, it always hangs up on the mouse not being connected to the PS2 port until I hit F1. I currently have a Logitech S510 keyboard + mice combo set that I use, which has an option of USB or PS2. I tried the PS2 port, but it does not recognize it. The only way it works is via USB, and I don't have a problem with that - I have enough USB ports. My problem is when I boot up the PC, it basically says the PS2 mouse is not found in the PS2 port, press F1 to resume. Once I hit F1, I have no problems afterwards, but I just hate the fact that I have to hit F1 all the time. I can still use the computer, it's not like I'm barred from continuing on - it's just a little hurdle I hate to have to jump every time I load up my PC.

Anybody know a fix to this? It looks like someone else mentioned this in their post (but it was just thrown in there, the thread wasn't meant to fix it. I still can get into BIOS if I'd like to, apparently this guy cannot. [H]ard|Forum

Also a reviewer on Newegg who bought the PLATINUM version of the K9A2 says "Cons: Bios is lacking many features such as RAM timing adjustments, and even something as simple as halt-on-error options (have to hit F1 each time the computer boots because I don't have a PS/2 mouse and keyboard), official AMD Overdrive has not been released, or I'm just blind."

Mobo/Case/OS:
MSI K9A2 CF-F AM2+/AM2 AMD
Cooler Master CM 690 Case
Windows XP 32-bit Professional SP2

BIOS Settings: Tried it with default settings, no go. Here is what its at now:

---
This is the startup screen.
A7388AMS V1.1 111507
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5200+
Memory Frequency for DDR2 = 800Mhz (Dual Channel)

1 AMD North Bridge, Rev F3
Initializing USB Controllers... Done.
2048MB OK
Auto-Detecting Pri Master... ATAPI CDROM:Optiarc DVD RW AD-7190A 1.01
Auto-Detecting SATA1 IDE Hard Disk

PS2 Mouse not found
Press F1 to Resume

---


** I now hit DELETE then F1 to enter BIOS.


In BIOS...

Under "Standard CMOS Features" - nothing related to legacy/halt

Under "Advanced BIOS Features":
Boot Sector Protection is DISABLED
Full Screen LOGO Display is ENABLED
Quick Booting is ENABLED
Boot Up Num-Lock LED is On
IOAPIC Fuction is ENABLED
MPS Table Version is 1.4

> CPU Feature
SVM Support is Disabled
> Chipset Feature
HPET is DISABLED
> Boot Sequence
1st Boot Device: SATA 500GB HD
2nd Boot Device: Optical Drive
3rd Boot Device: N/A
> TPM Feature
(Nothing here)

Under "Integrated Peripherals"

USB Controller is ENABLED
USB Device Leacy Support is ENABLED
Onboard LAN Controller is ENABLED
LAN Option ROM is Disabled
HD Audio Controller is Enabled

> On-Chip ATA Devices
PCI IDE BusMaster is DISABLED
On-Chip SATA Controller is ENABLED
RAID mode is IDE

> I/O Devices
COM Port 1 is "3F8/IRQ4" (this allows BIOS to select serial port1 base addresses).

Under "Power Management Setup"
ACPI Function is ENABLED
ACPI Standby State is S1
Suspend Time Out (Minute) is DISABLED
Power Button Function is POWER OFF
Restore AC on Power Loss is OFF

Under "PnP/PCI Configuration"

Primary Graphics Adapter is PCIE
PCI Latency Timer is 64

Under "H/W Monitor"

Chassis Intrusion is DISABLED
CPU Smart FAN Target is DISABLED
__________________

undefined is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 07:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: PS2 Not Detected... so what?

so.....? why dont u just use USB instead of ps2
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 07:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 113
Default Re: PS2 Not Detected... so what?

I am using USB... please read the post carefully.

When it boots up, it wants me to have a PS2 mouse.
undefined is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 07:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: PS2 Not Detected... so what?

ohh.. duh i feel slow
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ps2 2 port switch for ps2 ^^ phantomdentist General Gaming 0 11-18-2007 01:56 PM
Using my computer monitor for PS2 Zer033 Sony Playstation 3 09-16-2007 12:36 AM
500gb HD detected as 127gb weewun Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 08-30-2007 12:56 PM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM
No Windows Media Player Detected Shub-Niggurath Internet Software and Browsers 3 05-18-2007 11:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.