ps/2 problem. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-15-2005, 08:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 36
Default ps/2 problem.

Hello.

I bought a old computer. But when i turn it on then it does not go to windows.
It says "chmos error, defaults loaded" and writes that i need to push f1 or del key.
And here is the second problem - i then put ps/2 keyboard to the ps/2 port, but keyboard does not work (keyboard light does not go green). Person who selled my this computer told me that those ports worked if he used this computer. Seller took out cdrom drive and soundcard (becouse i didnt need then, have my own) and left winxp to the hdd. Is it possible that if he removed cdrom drive and soundcard, then something went wrong or something?
If i cant fix it then i have to send it back to him.

I have bought many things from him before and i dont belive that he
wanted to sell my broken pc.
__________________

mar6 is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 09:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

that means that your CMOS is not agreeing with the actual hardware the computer found during the boot. This can be cause by changing hardware without changing setup.

If the keyboard doesn't work at all, try a USB keyboard and get into BIOS and enable legacy keyboard and mouse support. While your there check to see if any missing hardware may still be enable.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 09:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Law
that means that your CMOS is not agreeing with the actual hardware the computer found during the boot. This can be cause by changing hardware without changing setup.
This does not help if i format hdd?

What shoul i do to get over this error?
I think that usb ports work on this motherboard. Is it going to work if i use usb keyboard? Dont have this at the moment.
mar6 is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 09:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 36
Default

If the keyboard doesn't work at all, try a USB keyboard and get into BIOS and enable legacy keyboard and mouse support. While your there check to see if any missing hardware maybe still be enable. [/B][/QUOTE]

Thanks i try to buy usb keyboard tomorrow. Hope that helps.


Thanks for help.
mar6 is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 09:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

No it will not help if you format HDD, best solution is to get a keyboard that will work and get you into BIOS. You should be able to get into BIOS with a USB keyboard.
Law is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.