programs freezing on Crucial M500 SSD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2014, 09:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default programs freezing on Crucial M500 SSD

I just bought a Crucial M500 240GB SSD and after reinstalling windows I noticed that programs and applications freeze up for sometimes 20 seconds and this happens a lot. I have the SSD as my boot drive and the other 2 hard drives are still in my computer. Although I had them unhooked during windows install to ensure windows files only install on the SSD. I have the SSD set to AHCI mode in the bios which is what I heard you have to do if you want trim to work. I am very new to SSDs and have no idea what's causing all this freezing but it is very annoying.
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 09:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: programs freezing on Crucial M500 SSD

Checked for a firmware update?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 10:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: programs freezing on Crucial M500 SSD

edit: ok I found what firmware I am on it is MU05 which is the latest. It actually took 4 min to open crystal disk info to check that just so you have an idea of the unresponsiveness



Any other ideas? I really can't use the computer like this
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 03:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
bevolasko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 91
Default Re: programs freezing on Crucial M500 SSD

If you haven't yet, try swapping the SATA cable with some other device and plug it in SATA 1 making it master.
bevolasko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 05:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: programs freezing on Crucial M500 SSD

ok ill try that the order of the drives is sort of messed up now i think this ssd is disk 2

0 and 1 are the other mechanical drives
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 05:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: programs freezing on Crucial M500 SSD

Set everything up without the other drives plugged in and see if that does it.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 05:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: programs freezing on Crucial M500 SSD

it still does with everything else unplugged that is how I installed windows I unplugged my 500 and 1.5tb drives and just had my dvd rom and the ssd. I ran like that for a while yesterday and it still happened.



Edit: I have been looking around other places for a solution and the only thing I people are doing to fix this issue is either updating their AHCI drivers (looked for and cannot find them for my motherboard for win8) or setting the drive to IDE mode. I don't know if I should just go back to IDE mode or not some say the SSD won't perform as well but some also say it doesn't make a noticable difference.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 06:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: programs freezing on Crucial M500 SSD

AHCI is required for TRIM to work which basically makes it so the SSD doesn't start killing itself. Try using a Windows 7 driver, go back to 7, or look at getting a new board.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 06:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: programs freezing on Crucial M500 SSD

the win7 drivers promptly present me with an unsupported operating system message upon attempting to install them.

I found something through a program called slimdrivers but the freezing problem is rendering the install useless i can't even click next before the program goes into not responding state


I really don't want to go back to windows 7 as I have a genuine bought copy of windows 8 I got from a friend who tried it and didn't like it. The only copy of 7 I had was a pirated copy
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 09:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikee View Post
the win7 drivers promptly present me with an unsupported operating system message upon attempting to install them.

I found something through a program called slimdrivers but the freezing problem is rendering the install useless i can't even click next before the program goes into not responding state

I really don't want to go back to windows 7 as I have a genuine bought copy of windows 8 I got from a friend who tried it and didn't like it. The only copy of 7 I had was a pirated copy
Then why not get a cheap 970 am3+ board or something and fully utilize that SSD?

Sent from my Z740 using TechForums
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crucial M4 SSD - Getting 3GB/s speeds instead of 6GB/s speeds? smashedpumpkins New Systems | Building and Buying 0 05-08-2012 05:26 AM
Can you have a SSD 60GB as a boot drive and a 500GB HDD for storage but have smart response enabled on the SSD? matteuk New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-27-2011 01:12 PM
mSATA SSD vs SATA SSD Jayce Laptops and Notebooks 1 06-29-2011 10:11 AM
SSD TRIM Function Intel X25 SSD thesilversavers Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 19 05-22-2011 10:04 PM
Which SSD would your recommend: OCZ Agility 2 60GB or Crucial RealSSD C300 64GB? AliceN1derland New Systems | Building and Buying 8 03-23-2011 01:02 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.