Product Serial - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-19-2007, 01:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Default Product Serial

Hello everyone,

Reformatted my pc afew minutes ago. Just got it up and running now and im greeted with a unauthorized product key for my windows xp home edition, i reformatted to see if i could make some problems inflicting my computer or possible fix any graphics driver issues that i wrote in my last thread. Seems to of suceeded for now. But anyways, the product key has automatically been entered but yet its saying its not correct and irronically ive lost my cd box which probably had my serial key on it Bah!

But it leaves the question if that is the serial key thats on the box thats automatically been input like it ussualy has been done in previous reformats, why is it invalid?

Im not asking for anyones serial key dont get me wrong for a theiving git, just want to fix this pretty quickly before it locks me out of my system.

And by the way, when install i had afew files missed from my disk being scratched, these are the following:

msratelc.dll
oembios.bin
msr2c.dll
msrclr4.dll
msr2cenu.dll
msrating.dll

If i cant find any way to resolve this ill probably end up buying a new system disk which leads to the question of what to buy? XP, Proffesional or the new vista?

Thanks for any educated responses

Adam
__________________

adamcornforth is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 11:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: Product Serial

I used vusta for 2 months and it really sucks. I wouldnt buy it for another year or so. If you have any new hardware or major changes it will make windows prompt you for a new key.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 11-20-2007, 12:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Product Serial

You may just have to call MS to have them activate windows for you. Tell them you had to reformat, and they'll walk you through (give you about 50 numbers to input lol),and you should be good to go then.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 11-20-2007, 12:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Product Serial

Aha i found the product key stamped on the back of my computer, inputed it and its working! good stuff, roll on the next problem.
adamcornforth is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serial ATA150, same or compatible with SATA? Alexinator New Systems | Building and Buying 10 10-03-2007 12:04 AM
No product key Herringtrader Microsoft Windows and Software 6 09-01-2007 10:41 PM
I used my windowsxp serial too many times. Now what? stainer711 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 08-10-2007 12:27 PM
Office 2007 Product Activation philb101 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-28-2007 09:06 AM
Very odd Serial PCI card problem Chris_PC Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 04-21-2007 01:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.