Processor, Video Card, or Builder? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2009, 03:04 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Processor, Video Card, or Builder?

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Is the mobo compatible with the X4s? As its not new, could have an old BIOS.
i think it is since it's the 790x

OP: have you tried re-setting the CMOS?
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 10-07-2009, 04:22 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Silverdale, WA
Posts: 4
Default Re: Processor, Video Card, or Builder?

I've found that it is not the video card, but the memory. the voltage requirement for them was too high but it can run 2 cards no problem. I'm currently trying to change the bios settings to allow for all 4 of them, but in the meantime, thanks for all your help.
__________________

DejaVu is offline  
Old 10-07-2009, 04:32 PM   #13 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Processor, Video Card, or Builder?

Okay.. This is a new one. I've never heard too much voltagte doing anything but frying stuff.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 10-07-2009, 04:37 PM   #14 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: Processor, Video Card, or Builder?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DejaVu View Post
I've found that it is not the video card, but the memory. the voltage requirement for them was too high but it can run 2 cards no problem. I'm currently trying to change the bios settings to allow for all 4 of them, but in the meantime, thanks for all your help.
[small]memory modules[/small]
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help With New Video Card Hunter434 System Upgrades 11 09-21-2009 06:30 PM
Video card shuts down unexpectedly multi86 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 09-03-2009 09:33 PM
Laptop Graphics Card Question LPzaz Laptops and Notebooks 4 07-07-2009 09:47 AM
swipe card programs spensierata Microsoft Windows and Software 4 10-23-2008 08:55 AM
damaged video card sb14blue Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-13-2007 03:13 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.