Processor too hot. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2006, 10:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 28
Default Processor too hot.

Hey, I built my PC last year, and am currently running on an Intel P4 530 3.0GHZ w/ HT. I've been through my BIOS and other PC monitoring programs such as Everest and PC Wizzard. My CPU temp is reading over 80°C. Is there anyway that I can greatly reduce this temperature? Thanks for your help.

`Auman
__________________

Auman is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 10:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 154
Default

get an aftermarket cooler and some as5 maybe a few case fans blow out dust in the case make sure your cooler is fully seated if even 1 corner is not in right your temps can get very high
__________________

__________________
3700+ sandiego core
chaintech vnf4 ultra
evga 7800gt
2x1 gig corsair xms
antec tpII 550
80 gig hitachi sata2
win xp pro sp2
ibbonkers is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 07:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

my vote is that the CPU heatsink isn't seated properly. Does the CPU fac report a good speed in everest?
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 01:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

im not gonna vote for that , intel's prescott core cpus (which is probably what he have) are known to be very very hot i'd say its the cooler , say whats the maximum price your willin to spend and ill recommend a good cooler
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 05:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

yes, the 530 is a prescott. they get hot, but not that hot.

sorry i cannot provide any temp data, my dell doesnt let me access sensors.
joshd is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 06:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

incorrect , just search google for prescott 80c and youll see what i mean , as for the sensors issue try one of these softwares
http://www.download.com/3000-2086-10018691.html
http://www.majorgeeks.com/download4181.html
http://www.majorgeeks.com/download337.html
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 06:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

thanks. just trying them.
joshd is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 06:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 17
Default

I have yet to try it so I don't advocate it, but water, and hvac cooling options are out there as well, I have heard of people dropping cpu temps below 0ºC... crazy another option I have heard of is fully submersing your system in oil... I believe it is cooking oil, but it is supposed to negate /disperse heat.
Jefe is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 06:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

speedfan update and everest update dont have anything new temp wise.

sandra says:
Thermal monitor Yes
Thermal monitor 2 No
Control Temperature 66*C


What is control temperature? it isnt the cpu temp, as it never changes, but what exactly is it?
__________________

joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.