Problems, Problems.Need help. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2009, 04:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 103
Question Problems, Problems.Need help.

Tried booting a spare computer we had that hasn't been used in about a year. It would either reboot itself and the windows loading screen or give me a stop error screen that said

RIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

Then under it had Technical Information STOP then a bunch of Zero numbers..Under that it..

atapi.sys - Adress F94705F8 ((Does atapi have something to do with the motherboard?))

What I did to try and solve the problem.

1. I tried different amounts of ram...and in different slots. (Did not help)
2. I took the video card out. (Did not help)
3. I tried some other ram I had laying about..same results, but new error message.

MACHINE_CHECK_EXECEPTION

4. Deleted the partition and created another one and tried to install a fresh copy of windows. It would get about 10 minutes into the installation(After the format) and would either just reboot or just give me that same error message.

5. I took the harddrive out and put it in another PC and installed a fresh copy of windows on it without any problems.

Whenever, I put it back into the other PC it booted all the way to windows.((NOTE: I lost the drivers CD..so after I installed Windows I couldn't reinstall any of the drivers))
Then it would pop up a screen that said
Windows has recovered from a serious error.
and ask me to send to Microsoft...after being booted to windows for about a minute or two it would either reboot(This happened more than the error msg)) or give me that same error message.

The system specs are

CPU: Intel Celeron D 3.6ghz
Mobo: Asus P5GDM1-VM((Those are the bold numbers on the Mobo itself)
Ram: Some off band crap DDR.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, as I am stuck on what to do now.
__________________

PuRpLeSmUrF is offline  
Old 02-25-2009, 04:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Problems, Problems.Need help.

Your issue lies with #5. You can not take a install from another PC and put the drive in this PC and expect it to work. You will have to install Windows fresh with this machine.

The hardware profiles will not match and cause this issue.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-25-2009, 04:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 103
Default Re: Problems, Problems.Need help.

Should I try to repair it then with the OS CD in the machine I want it in then?
PuRpLeSmUrF is offline  
Old 02-25-2009, 04:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Problems, Problems.Need help.

Yes. Try a repair install. See if that helps. Cause right now your system isnt even recognizing the install. So you have to do a repair to get the install fixed.

Until that point there is no real solution. Unless you format and reinstall Windows using that machine.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-25-2009, 04:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 103
Default

Alright, I will see if I can do a repair this time without that error screen it gave me while trying to install windows beforehand. Thanks for the help Mak.

Okay. It gets to the point where it restarts for the repair...and then when it reboots it gives me that RIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

So it seems I can't even repair it on this machine.

Any Ideas on what I could do to fix this part? It gives me that error message on a blue screen and some stuff about checking newely added hardware.
PuRpLeSmUrF is offline  
Old 02-25-2009, 10:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Problems, Problems.Need help.

Drive IRQL not less or equal is a RAM related issue. Run Memtest86.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 12:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 103
Default Re: Problems, Problems.Need help.

Thanks, Mak213. I will try that out and let yah know the results.

EDIT: Err, How do you use memtest. I downloaded it and burnt it to a CD..put the CD in the messed up rig and booted from CD but nothing happened.
PuRpLeSmUrF is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 01:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
Yee Ol' Salt
 
Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 642
Default Re: Problems, Problems.Need help.

Do you have another stick of ram laying around? if not maybe pick one or two up.. if your ram is bad, your pc wont work..
__________________

Find my post helpful? IF so please rate me by clicking the green check mark under my avatar.





:D Antec 300|M3N72-D|AMD PHM II X3 BE 720 3.0ghz (CodeName "Heka")|OCZ Stealth Xtreme 600w|2 two gig OCZ DDR2 1066 gold 4 GB of Ram|BFG-GTX 260 512||Samsung 42" Plasma| XP x86 sp3 /Vista x386 and x64|
The face I make everytime I'm on my machine :eek:
Hampton is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 01:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 103
Default

Yeh, I put two sticks from another PC in there and still giving me same message.

Okay, I just tried it with some different ram again...and while trying to install a fresh copy of Windows to it...the blue screen popped up and said "An attempt has been made to write to read-only memory" some other stuff about shutting down to prevent further damage yadda yah.

The only thing I did different again was used only one stick of a dif. 256 mb in the middle memory slot.(Two are blue, and two are black(The ones in the middle) )
PuRpLeSmUrF is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 02:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Problems, Problems.Need help.

Sounds like incompatible RAM to me. Either the RAM chips you are using can not function together or they do not work with the mobo in question.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Battlefield 2 Crashes when entering Singleplayer,Multiplayer, and Audio Options Grayman PC Gaming 7 03-17-2009 02:26 AM
Many Problems With Comp Doorknob Microsoft Windows and Software 6 02-15-2009 08:54 PM
Problems with reformat. phucng_10 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 11 12-09-2008 06:00 AM
A whole boatload of problems, please help :( Neodr31 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 09-18-2008 10:32 AM
AVG Free problems,, TomW Viruses, Spyware and Malware 4 05-08-2007 09:08 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.