Problems with my WD 3TB HDD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2016, 10:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
@nline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Norway
Posts: 54
Unhappy Problems with my WD 3TB HDD

Dear Friends,
Please accept my apology if my post is into a wrong section.

This about my WD My Book 3TB on H:\

After I start my Desktop PC then I am getting the following message with YES or NO option:

Trash on H: \ is corrupt. Empty Trash for this drive?

YES or NO

What doest it means or what this message syas about? I click on YES or NO. But nothing happens. And I am keep getting this message every time I start my PC.
__________________

@nline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2016, 01:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Problems with my WD 3TB HDD

Sounds like you may need to run a chkdsk on your drive.

Start -> type 'cmd' (without quotes) -> right click -> run as admin -> in the console window that pops up type:
chkdsk H: /f /r
Press Enter and it may say it cannot lock the current drive and to run on next reboot. If it does, type Y and hit Enter -> Reboot your computer.

Let it run through the check (it may take some time, depending on how big your HDD is).
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2016, 06:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
@nline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Norway
Posts: 54
Default Re: Problems with my WD 3TB HDD

Thanks for the reply.
I did that. But nothing happened at all.
@nline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2016, 07:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Problems with my WD 3TB HDD

Did it scan? Did it find any bad sectors or anything like that?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2016, 04:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
@nline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Norway
Posts: 54
Default Re: Problems with my WD 3TB HDD

No. It didnt scan at all. This is the followung message appear whenever I start my Desktop PC:

EDIT: tried to add the screnshot.
@nline is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows is trying to auto partition my 3TB HDD. How to keep it whole? soarwitheagles New Systems | Building and Buying 5 07-02-2013 02:57 PM
Opinions on 3tb-4tb external drives? iamloco724 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 04-07-2013 02:50 AM
Why will Windows and Gparted not permit me to use a full 3TB HDD? soarwitheagles New Systems | Building and Buying 7 03-02-2013 08:58 PM
HDD to HDD copy, best software? Raphael Argus Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 10-03-2004 09:51 PM
Old HDD to new HDD runescaper Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 04-10-2004 09:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.