Problems with the current and my psu - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-20-2005, 09:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 12
Angry Problems with the current and my psu

I wasnt getting help in a another forum so i found this.

My computer specs:

Antec Neo He 550w
Seagate SATA ll 160gig
AMD 4200 Duel Core
Nvidia XFX 7800gt 256mb
ABIT AN8-ULTRA Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra
OCZ Performance 2GB "gold"
Windows XP

now, i installed everything. got windows installed. it does run
but after about 7minutes after you turn it on, the PSU starts making a clicking noise. like "tet tet tet tet" with about 1 second inbetween each "tet"

now, when the psu makes the noise, the lights in my room dim.
they kind of blick, "not off but a lil darker, like there isnt enough volt getting to the lights" i mean, the psu cant be drawing the much current, could it?

WTF is wrong? is my psu shot? spiking? overheating?
im really mad because its a 100$ psu


thanks-Joe
__________________

Dilly man 2 is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 09:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 12
Default

EDIT:
deleted and remade post


When i turn my computer on. around 5-7minutes the psu starts making and electrical shorting sound. it stops when i turn off my ceiling lights though...

here is the stats when it starts beeping.

cpu: 31c - 87f
sys: 24c - 75f
pwm: 31c - 87f

help?
__________________

Dilly man 2 is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 10:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

It most likely is an electrical problem in your house. Most likely your house was wired is not able to handle the power used by PSU. Which would effect all the other electrical components nearby.
turtile is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 10:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 12
Default

so is that bad?
will it be ok to run?
Dilly man 2 is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 11:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

To make sure that is your problem, plug in a 12 amp vacuum cleaner with the lights on, if the lights change brightness and stay that way, you could have a problem. Normally they will just blink and go back the way they were.
turtile is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 11:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Are you sure its not your harddrive making the clicking sounds?


try another AC outlet and get everything on a surge surpressor.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 01:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 12
Default

My PSU has now blown up, it was smoking and smelt of somthing that burnt inside the psu. Is my 1500$ of hardwear destroyed?
none of my 4pin molex are burnt or anything. how can i test my hardwear "my mobo" to make sure its not fried, and no, i dont have another psu to test. i need something like a multimeter so i can see if the curcuit is still intact.

im going to assume my psu shorted because it was malfunctional "as everyone said in (www.computerforum.com)"

So what are my odds that it is all still OK?
Dilly man 2 is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 01:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by turtile
To make sure that is your problem, plug in a 12 amp vacuum cleaner with the lights on, if the lights change brightness and stay that way, you could have a problem. Normally they will just blink and go back the way they were.

they blink and they go back to normal.
Dilly man 2 is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 01:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Well, 50/50, if your lucky the PSU just died nothing else.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 01:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by turtile
It most likely is an electrical problem in your house. Most likely your house was wired is not able to handle the power used by PSU. Which would effect all the other electrical components nearby.
If that were the case, wouldnt the lights just fade and thats it?
and why would the psu just blow-up in a pile of smoke?
if anything there wouldnt be enough power and it shouldnt surge because of a lack of power. also i bet it was a pos psu "malfunctional"

i am trading it back in for another one. but i want to know if there is something i can do to test the hardwear so i know if its fried or not.
__________________

Dilly man 2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.