problems with comp...help please - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2010, 12:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dearborn, MI
Posts: 230
Default problems with comp...help please

Hey all,

My GF comp is acting up. It shuts down on its own and when she trys to run the repair it also shuts down.
I am not sure what the problem is since I can't get any info. Her comp is an emachine with a amd sempron CPU.
Has this happened to anyone before? Any info would help me fix the problem. Thanks
__________________

mattk1045 is offline  
Old 10-04-2010, 01:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: problems with comp...help please

Sounds like what my emachine originally was. (spec wise)

Is it the W3107?

Is it using the k8mc mobo?
Those are absolute garbage so that would be my first guess.
otherwise...

Sounds like overheating. How old is that thermal paste? How long does it last till it shuts down?
In the bios what is the automatic shutdown temp? Does it alarm before shutdown?

OR

Did you disconnect and reconnect everything?

Is it all cleaned up? (DUST)

Reset the bios?

That should keep you busy haha
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 10-04-2010, 01:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: problems with comp...help please

Give us the model number.

If you can get into the BIOS, check the temps. It is possible the thermal paste has given up the ghost and letting the CPU overheat.

You could also try running Memtest to see if the RAM is bad. Usually bad RAM will pull BSODs on you, but not always.

Geez... all the possibilities. PSU going out... mobo going out... and the list goes on.

Blow it out like Hero said, then check the BIOS temps and post back. We'll go from there.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-04-2010, 01:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dearborn, MI
Posts: 230
Default Re: problems with comp...help please

The comp shuts off before windows even starts up. So I can't run any programs to check for errors. The comp otherwise is only 3 years old. It does not alarm before it shuts down. I will have her go into the BIOS and tell me what the temps are. That is if it stays on long enough
Thanks guys. I will have her clean it first. If that doesn't work I will start to work on the other problems.

I will get the model number and specs from her as well.
mattk1045 is offline  
Old 10-04-2010, 02:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: problems with comp...help please

Ok just get that info and we'll continue on down the list because there are so many things that can be wrong it's kind of ridiculous.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 10-06-2010, 01:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dearborn, MI
Posts: 230
Default Re: problems with comp...help please

Ok well its not the heat thing. Her comp is running hot but I was able to get into the BIOS and she will clean it. I think the problem is her HDD is corrupted. When she goes to start it it tells her to repair windows that a recent hardware change could have caused the problem. Since that is not it it has to be something else. When she tries to start windows normally it shuts down. She did the repair thing once but then it happened again 2 days later.
mattk1045 is offline  
Old 10-06-2010, 03:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: problems with comp...help please

Corrupt windows is a possibility does she have the repair disc and if not what model of emachine is it
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 10-06-2010, 04:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dearborn, MI
Posts: 230
Default Re: problems with comp...help please

she does have the repair disk. I already told her to clean the case, and be careful around the mobo. Then use the recovery disk to reinstall windows. Who knows how long this will take her lol. I will post again when I got something
mattk1045 is offline  
Old 10-06-2010, 06:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: problems with comp...help please

Ok good call bud let us know how it goes.
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Log and having some problems with Comp Surfenbro HijackThis Logs (finished) 1 09-20-2007 09:03 AM
Comp problems Fozzy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 01-08-2007 08:06 AM
Arh New Comp Problems ! kahlos Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-10-2006 09:20 AM
Got new comp, problems.... Kingof2v1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 31 07-07-2005 11:48 PM
new comp problems autoguy Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 01-22-2004 02:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.