Problems booting: Mobo error Base memory detect? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2007, 12:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Problems booting: Mobo error Base memory detect?

I was just doing some cable maintenance. When I was done I went to boot but I get a motherboard display of C1 which according to my manual says: Memory Presence | Base memory detect. I also receive a repeating long tone when the normal post tone should be. It does not load into windows. Here is a pic of my motherboard. Did I miss re-connecting something? Thanks!

__________________

__________________

Xion XON-180 Case
OCZ ModXStream 600w 50A on +12V
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 AM3+ mobo
AMD FX-4170 Zambezi 4.2GHz [stock heatsink]
2 x 4Gb DDR3 1866 G.Skill Sniper RAM
Corsair GT 60Gb SATA3 SSD
Evga GTX 465 GPU
Windows 7 Premium
Hookster264 is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 01:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Problems booting: Mobo error Base memory detect?

reseat your RAM, see if it boots then.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 01:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Re: Problems booting: Mobo error Base memory detect?

I reseated the RAM, but I get the same error. All case fans, HS fan, chipset fan, and Vid card fan are spinning. Could I be shorting something out?
__________________

Xion XON-180 Case
OCZ ModXStream 600w 50A on +12V
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 AM3+ mobo
AMD FX-4170 Zambezi 4.2GHz [stock heatsink]
2 x 4Gb DDR3 1866 G.Skill Sniper RAM
Corsair GT 60Gb SATA3 SSD
Evga GTX 465 GPU
Windows 7 Premium
Hookster264 is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 01:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Problems booting: Mobo error Base memory detect?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hookster264 View Post
I reseated the RAM, but I get the same error. All case fans, HS fan, chipset fan, and Vid card fan are spinning. Could I be shorting something out?
Could be.

I see your case doesn't use standard support screws. I had to unscrew a few screws on my motherboard to get it to work.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 01:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Default Re: Problems booting: Mobo error Base memory detect?

I'd do a cmos reset.
__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 01:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Re: Problems booting: Mobo error Base memory detect?

I reset the vid card and reset my BIOS. I loosened my mobo screws. No change.
__________________

Xion XON-180 Case
OCZ ModXStream 600w 50A on +12V
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 AM3+ mobo
AMD FX-4170 Zambezi 4.2GHz [stock heatsink]
2 x 4Gb DDR3 1866 G.Skill Sniper RAM
Corsair GT 60Gb SATA3 SSD
Evga GTX 465 GPU
Windows 7 Premium
Hookster264 is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 01:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Problems booting: Mobo error Base memory detect?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hookster264 View Post
I reset the vid card and reset my BIOS. I loosened my mobo screws. No change.
try unplugging everything except for motherboard, CPU, video card, RAM, power supply
try taking the motherboard out of the case temporarily, sitting it on an antistatic bag
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 12:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Re: Problems booting: Mobo error Base memory detect?

Ok, it's up and running. My CMOS is a pain to clear. I have to leave the battery out for about 30 minutes. I even switch the jumpers, but it wouldn't clear it. Strange thing is when it booted, my BIOS showed my FSB at 288 and my volts at stock. Thanks for all the help last night. I'm glad I got it going again.
__________________

__________________

Xion XON-180 Case
OCZ ModXStream 600w 50A on +12V
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 AM3+ mobo
AMD FX-4170 Zambezi 4.2GHz [stock heatsink]
2 x 4Gb DDR3 1866 G.Skill Sniper RAM
Corsair GT 60Gb SATA3 SSD
Evga GTX 465 GPU
Windows 7 Premium
Hookster264 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory or Mobo help needed cbo0485 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-30-2007 11:36 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.