Problems Booting with A8NSLI and AMD 64 X2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2006, 02:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to Mavlyn Send a message via Yahoo to Mavlyn
Default Problems Booting with A8NSLI and AMD 64 X2

Hello,

I'm new here, and I stopped by because I am pounding my head into a wall with my computer.

I bought new components, listed in my sig, and constructed the new computer. However, I can only load into Safe Mode (with or without networking). Any attempts to load into Normal XP Professional result in a Stop Error 0x0000007E. I have updated the BIOS, the Chipset, everything. I can't even get past the loading screen. I have disabled all boot features, and no luck that way.

This is my conversion from Intel to AMD, so I am wondering if that plays some role.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks.
__________________

Mavlyn is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 09:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to Mavlyn Send a message via Yahoo to Mavlyn
Default

Bump de Bump!
__________________

Mavlyn is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 09:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

If it boots to safe mode, but not normal it is most likely a driver causing the problem. I would try disabling various hardware components one by one until you can find the problem child.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 09:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Actually before you try that see if you can actually see where in the boot process it is getting stuck. In safemode to to a run command and type MSCONFIG>go to the BOOT.INI tab> Check the box labeled /SOS. This will show you step by step when the OS is coming up note where it pauses or crashes.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 10:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Has it worked anytime in the past? Did you download Security Update for Windows XP: Kb912919?? That update seems to be causing conflicts with Nvidia graphics drivers, well the 77.71 drivers atleast....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 12:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to Mavlyn Send a message via Yahoo to Mavlyn
Default

Thanks, guys.

I tracked it down to an audio driver, and when I purged it, things went smoothly.

Thanks again!
__________________

Mavlyn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.