Problems with Apollo M250 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2012, 11:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
Default Problems with Apollo M250

My Apollo M250 1 TB HDD recently started malfunctioning a little and I was hoping the people here could help me troubleshoot a little.

The HDD works perfectly fine when I connect it to the 2 desktops in my house.

However, when I try to connect it to my laptop (Aspire 4755G if it helps), the HDD does not appear in the 'My Computer' page. When I go into device manager though, I can see my HDD listed there.

Is the problem with the HDD or the laptop?

Thanks for the time taken
__________________

clarence1 is offline  
Old 05-02-2012, 11:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Problems with Apollo M250

Right Click Computer (in the start menu), select Manage. Go to disk management on the left pane. Find your hard drive, and make sure there are no letter conflicts, or that it isn't initialized.

Post up a pic if you're not sure.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-02-2012, 11:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
Default Re: Problems with Apollo M250

I've found the hard drive in the disk management pane but how do i check for letter conflicts and initialisation?
clarence1 is offline  
Old 05-02-2012, 12:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Problems with Apollo M250

right click the drive on the lower pane. To check for letter conflict, just change the letter to one further down the line, as M or something, where it wouldn't be anything near other letters. If it need to be initialized, it will be the only option when you right click it.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-02-2012, 12:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
Default Re: Problems with Apollo M250

Well when I right click on the disk drive I see 'update driver software, disable, uninstall, scan for hardware changes and properties' so I assume it's already initialised. Do i change the driver letter by going into properties? and if so, which tab?

Sorry for failing at this basic task >_>
clarence1 is offline  
Old 05-02-2012, 12:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Problems with Apollo M250

You're in Device Manager, not Disk Management.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 05-02-2012, 12:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
Default Re: Problems with Apollo M250

*facepalm* sorry for that silly mistake and thanks for all the help. it's working now. ^^
clarence1 is offline  
Old 05-02-2012, 12:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Problems with Apollo M250

You should be seeing this:



Are you running Windows 7?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-02-2012, 12:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
Default Re: Problems with Apollo M250

Ah yeah I went into the wrong part earlier, mindovermaster.carnage has cleared that up and the problem is fixed now. Thanks for all the help =)
clarence1 is offline  
Old 05-02-2012, 12:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Problems with Apollo M250

No problem, glad you got it working.

@MoM: Ninja'd :P.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to understand the USB format on this Sandisk M250 mp3 player.... Jayce Off Topic Discussion 2 03-20-2006 05:21 PM
Apollo Geforce 6800 lowlux New Systems | Building and Buying 6 12-27-2005 01:37 PM
loud fan on Apollo Geforce 6600GT The Dark Lord Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 06-01-2005 04:06 PM
Apollo GeForce 6200 TurboCache Megadeth2 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 01-13-2005 08:49 PM
Apollo Vid Cards? Nubius Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 12-10-2004 11:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.