problems after rma mobo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2008, 06:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 18
Default problems after rma mobo

I recently got my mobo replaced, and now with the new one i'm having constant problems. Im running vista home premium 64bit. First, I opted for the oem version when i built the computer, so of course the first problem was activating windows. It asked me to type in my serial number, so i did.
Do i still have to call Microsoft to get them to re-activate it? There was some kind of message after i typed in the serial number about the activation...

My biggest problems are all the bsod and startup errors i get, every time.
I get bsod's with the following various messages.
-SYSTEM SERVICE EXCEPTION
-IRQL NOT LESS OR EQUAL
-MEMORY MANAGEMENT
-...0000001E
Also sometimes the system hangs after the windows loading screen and stays black.

I wasn't getting these problems obviously before, just after installing the new hardware, all the other original hardware worked. Do i have to re-install windows or some drivers or something?
Thanks for any help.
__________________

Rich_S is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 10:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: problems after rma mobo

Hello,

Did you reinstall Vista when you got the new motherboard? Yes you will have to call and reactivate your Vista.

OEM Vista only allows for 1 activation. Since that was already used technically you are supposed to buy a new copy for this PC. Since a new mobo constitutes a new PC according to Microsoft.

So you will have to call. Need to know if you reinstalled to be able to tell you what is going on with the BSOD's though.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 02:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 18
Default Re: problems after rma mobo

i will call then to ask if they will re-activate. Thanks.
No I didnt try re-installing windows. The only action i took had to do with the motherboard, I don't know if this is signifigant but at the time of replacing the old one i had a bios update, so the new one wouldn't have that update. On the new mobo however i updated from the original to a even newer version than was on the original mobo...
Rich_S is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 09:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: problems after rma mobo

Hello,

If it was not the exact same mobo, you will have to reinstall Vista. When you call. Tell them your hard drive crashed or they will say exactly what i said above. That you will have to purchase a new copy.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 10:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: problems after rma mobo

dont tell them you replaced the mobo, they may give you a hard time about that. tell them you updated the firmware for your dvd burner or something and got the activation message.
when all else fails, lie.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 12:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 18
Default Re: problems after rma mobo

I've tried 3 times to re-install windows, but cant get far enough without a bsod....0x0000007E was the last one. On the first attempt i formatted the hard drive, started installing windows, then part way through, bsod. The last two times it didnt even finish loading the files from the disc. The last time i flashed the bios and it still did the same thing. Now i'm really lost
Rich_S is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 12:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: problems after rma mobo

have you tried to flash the mobo bios?
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Battlefield 2 Crashes when entering Singleplayer,Multiplayer, and Audio Options Grayman PC Gaming 7 03-17-2009 02:26 AM
Problems installing a Zotac nvidia GeForce 8800GT graphics card capooth Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 20 06-23-2008 05:19 PM
Couple of Problems With Custom Built PC Fragg System Upgrades 9 05-01-2008 11:15 PM
Possibly motherboard problems? zdozbou Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-11-2008 07:30 PM
AVG Free problems,, TomW Viruses, Spyware and Malware 4 05-08-2007 09:08 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.