problems after changing OS from XP to XP Pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2009, 10:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 58
Exclamation problems after changing OS from XP to XP Pro

(this happened after my father inlaw changed his OS to XP pro from XP)

Im working on my father in laws computer. he has been having a problem with booting, kinda. when he turns on the computer it stops at the screen that shows all devices & thier status, he wants it to go straight to running the OS instead of stopping here & then he physically has to push <F2> to continue. as Im looking at this screen at the bottom it says

-Pri Master Hard Disk: S.M.A.R.T. Status Bad, Backup and Replace-

from what Ive read and understand so far as Im half way through A+ essentials Is that while the BIOS was going through POST it determined that the hard drive is going bad & recognizes that it needs to be backed up & replaced, is this a safe assumption? would it be safe to say that a new hard drive could be the answer to this?
__________________

kaotikvizion is offline  
Old 10-03-2009, 11:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: problems after changing OS from XP to XP Pro

S.M.A.R.T. is for determining if a hard drive is possibly starting to go bad, so that would be my guess. Let's see what others have to say, though. I am not 100% positive.
__________________

oldskool is offline  
Old 10-03-2009, 11:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: problems after changing OS from XP to XP Pro

yup, means there is a hardware failure on the hard drive and it should be replaced. SMART is a BIOS device that can detect hard drive issues before the end user sees them. It is not 100% accurate so this is by no means an end all. What it does mean is you should backup your hard drive ASAP then run some diag utilities to see if the drive is truely going bad.

Either way I would be backing up your data ASAP and on a regular basis at this point.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 10-03-2009, 11:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 58
Default Re: problems after changing OS from XP to XP Pro

if the HDD is Failing would he or would it be ok to back up files on the internet or would he have to use a hard drive. hes going to need a HDD to use this computer I know, but I dont know if he has the money to buy it right now. also, his two computer (his and his wifes) are right next to eachother

(GET READY FOR THE NOOB QUESTION OF THE DAY)

since they are right next to eachother is there any way to link the two comps & back it up on his other comp like peer-to-peer?
kaotikvizion is offline  
Old 10-04-2009, 12:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: problems after changing OS from XP to XP Pro

Yup, you have to purchase a crossover cable to connect the two computers.

OR, you could just take the drive that is failing out, hook it up as slave on the other computer, boot the other computer then copy the files that are needed over using windows.

I really don't get the question of backing files up to the internet, yes you can do that but it requires money, which if you can't afford a 40 dollar hard drive you won't be able to pay for the high cost of offsite internet backup (high cost because it would be a per month basis and you don't know how long you'd need to keep the files stored).
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 10-04-2009, 12:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
septic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: soul
Posts: 244
Default Re: problems after changing OS from XP to XP Pro

usb to usb I can't answer. But I would take it easy with the c:drive your trying to retrieve info on.
Quote:
<F2> to continue
I couldn't tell from this if your actually getting all the way into XPpro. If the info you want is sensitive> irreplaceable pictures etc... I would get an external device and get it backed up promptly. Keep in mind- backing up onto your other pc can infect the other pc. If its IEDE in both the failing C and your other C you can just physically pull the C from the bad and install it in the good pc as a D drive. Just make sure your boot order is correct in BIOS. And the IEDE flat ribbon cable would have to have two plug-ins for this application. When I want to do a 3rd back-up for a couple pictures or a small file I just email it to myself and yahoo stores it for me.
I said the same thing as lexluether did I just type to slow
__________________
asus striker extreme/e6850/4g ddr2 800/8800gts640sli
septic is offline  
Old 10-04-2009, 11:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 58
Default Re: problems after changing OS from XP to XP Pro

thanks you guys rock so Ive told him our theory & he said that screen has been up for atleast 3 years??? so could the HDD really be the culprit? he swears that since he changed it to XP PRO thats it is the bios not the HDD. oh and yes he can press F2 and load XP PRO.
kaotikvizion is offline  
Old 10-04-2009, 03:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: problems after changing OS from XP to XP Pro

If you have a router, setup a simple network, with a shared drive on the good pc and copy paste it there.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 10-04-2009, 04:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: problems after changing OS from XP to XP Pro

You can change the option in the bios to where it won't stop for anything unless it is critical. Look for an options in there like 'halt on nothing but critical errors.'
__________________

__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xp home to xp pro on laptop sally864 Laptops and Notebooks 12 05-15-2009 08:51 PM
New Dell XPS M1330 - Changing Vista to XP Pro. snowsurfer Laptops and Notebooks 6 04-25-2008 01:58 PM
Having Problems with Windows 2000 Pro Anubius Microsoft Windows and Software 13 10-14-2007 11:42 PM
Is now a good time to buy a macbook pro? ulater6000 Apple and Mac 13 09-22-2007 11:24 AM
AVG Free problems,, TomW Viruses, Spyware and Malware 4 05-08-2007 09:08 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.