Problems! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2006, 09:36 PM   #21 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

also, to increase performance, turn off System Restore
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 10:05 PM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

ok but wat if i do need to use it in the future? i dont get y i had all these things running on my old pc and it used to boot quite quick and that was a P4 2.8Ghz.
__________________

Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 10:06 PM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if Windows does generate problems, you could just do a repair-install
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 10:14 PM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

oh yea. is there an actual reason for this being slower than my P4?
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 10:17 PM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yes. but the problem is finding out what the reason is.

firstly there's the paging file.
you could try setting it to maybe 256MB
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 10:54 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

ok thanks for all your help. hopefully ill find the problem later today.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 08:19 AM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

Ok i have got my drives sorted out now. i had one as cable selection and other on slave lol so it didnt like that. I have disabled some autoruns and turned off system restore so that should help a bit.

thanks
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 08:21 AM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

have you set the paging file?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 09:01 AM   #29 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

Well the recommendation by the hdd is set at 1324mb that seems pretty dam high as its over 1gb. I think i will lower it to about 500mb, lower if its still slow.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 09:15 AM   #30 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Windows recommends 1536Mb on mine, but i still disable it.
Windows gives a much bigger value than what you actually need.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.