Problematic Desktop PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2012, 03:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Problematic Desktop PC

Hey guys I have an old Desktop PC that mum bought and it didn't work. Now I have tried everything I know: Pulled out the graphics card and used the MB signal connection for the screen and it still doesn't work!

The Problem: The box boots then I turn the screen on and it says no signal on the screen?? I am using a Samsung PC screen and the hardrive or the PC itself is an old LG. I don't know the model as I can't access the BIOS because the screen won't connect. I am using one of those blue cables that are commonly used to connect screens to the box. I think it's called a VGA I don't know.
__________________

__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 09:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Problematic Desktop PC

Yeah, VGA cords headers are normally blue. DVI is usually white.

Is this a new computer? If so, I would go back to the store and request a trade-in.

Did you try disconnecting all drives and one stick of RAM? Could be a RAM problem.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 03:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Re: Problematic Desktop PC

It was bought second hand from a Computer Fixer named Mark. However when it didn't boot mum rang him and they tried fixing it but never did. As for the RAM where is it located? Because I have never pulled apart a Desktop PC. Also the screen has a VGA input and a DVI input.
__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 09:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Problematic Desktop PC

Typically right next to the CPU. Top right side of motherboard. You know what memory sticks look like, right?

The LCD, you mean? Most mid-range monitors do have both.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 06:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Re: Problematic Desktop PC

I have seen a graphics card but never a RAM stick. Do they look similar to those in a laptop but bigger?
__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 06:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Problematic Desktop PC

Similar to this:

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 12:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Re: Problematic Desktop PC

There are white slots that look like they would fit that! But they don't have anything in them! Maybe this is the issue

EDIT! This computer has 2 sticks of RAM. The sticks were near the Power box with al the power cords though. Thanks to that pic I found them. The white slots mentioned above are from a MB that I am working on.
__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 09:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Problematic Desktop PC

The white slots are probably PCI slots. Look at any motherboard on Newegg. It will label where the RAM slots are.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 03:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Re: Problematic Desktop PC

Yep they are the RAM. Okay so not a RAM issue. Could I try a 64 MB Graphics card to replace the current one? But the old one says 64 bit and I am worried that 64MB may be too much power.
__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 08:48 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Problematic Desktop PC

If your onboard video doesn't even work, what good will a new card do? I think this is more of a power issue.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acquiring Used Software: Problematic? donaldfleming Microsoft Windows and Software 2 02-25-2011 09:23 PM
Problematic soundblaster Hawk12online Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 03-28-2008 08:46 PM
Problematic Screen Saver bsnyder100 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 06-19-2005 06:33 PM
Problem with...well...problematic Classic you_filthy_pig Apple and Mac 11 06-06-2005 05:02 PM
Problematic GA-K8VM800M / Athlon 64 3000+ Silvo Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 02-13-2005 01:22 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.