Problem with system - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2006, 03:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?
Posts: 142
Default Problem with system

I have a problem with a system running Win98. The system speaker, when I turn the system on, emits one long beep, then a pause, then another one, etc....
The BIOS chip says "Award 066428354 PCI/PnP-586 BIOS".
The BIOS chip is from around 1995 or so.
The CPU has NOT been overclocked.
One of the floppy disk power cables is damaged so sometimes it shorts out the computer if it touches the case.

Changes I have made since it worked:
-Taken out HDD to format in other computer, then put it back in.
-Taken out a RAM stick (unknown type)
-Taken out 5.25" Floppy drive
-Put in CD Drive 52x Max.
-Taken out Network card
-Taken out scanner card AFTER the computer stopped working.

We took all the drives out and all the cards (PCI, ISA etc) and all the RAM and it still beeps. We took the CPU out and it didn't beep at all. When everything was working it beeped once.
__________________

sir nerdalot is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 02:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

AWARD BIOS
1 Long Beep: Memory problem <award1-c.html>

1 Long, then 2 Short Beeps: Video error <awardB12-c.html>

1 Long, then 3 Short Beeps: Video error <awardB13-c.html>

Continuous Beeping: Memory or video problem <awardContinuous-c.html>



~u might of putten the RAM in the wrong slot thats why it beeps~
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 02:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?
Posts: 142
Default

Well it's 72 pin RAM so I don't think it's in the wrong slot, maybe it's in backwards. Thanks so much for help I'll try different RAM stick maybe.
sir nerdalot is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 02:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

These are slots, if u hav only one slot then u cant make a mistake unless backwards.

urs is the white ones, u may of putten it in the wrong one
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 03:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?
Posts: 142
Default

Yes well I've worked out the problem and how to fix it but thanks everyone. The problem was when it was working there were 2 RAM sticks. One got taken out so the system complained. But I've put the other stick in and it boots up properly. All I need now is to find a working copy of Windows 98, the one I used is all scratched (it was a burnt copy)
sir nerdalot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.