Problem with remote control for graphics card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2005, 07:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to mx416
Arrow Problem with remote control for graphics card

The card is a Nivida GeForce FX5700. I installed all the software and drivers for it. I cannot get the remote control to work. I have batteries in it, and the RF receiver plugged into my computer. The computer reconizes the receiver when I connect it.

The manual says to go into control panel and open up the Foreware remote control, you have to check the box to initialize the remote. When I do this, it says "Failed to activate Nivida X10 USB remote"

I've tried reinstalling everything and it still doesn't work. The pdf manual has no section for troubleshooting either.
__________________

mx416 is offline  
Old 08-17-2005, 08:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

You need to reinstall the X10 drivers from who else? X10...
Here - Believe it or not, this will work.
Download, Install - Restart.
ftp://ftp.x10.com/pub/applications/d...x10drivers.exe

I've had this same problem with ATI's REMOTE WONDER. Install that driver for the USB RF and you're good to go. Both ATI & NVIDIA use that driver for there remotes.

Good Luck!
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Old 08-17-2005, 09:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to mx416
Default

Thanks HAVOK, that worked!!! I'm suprised it was missing the drivers for it or that they didn't work right with the software that came with it.

Thanks again, you're a real asset to these forums, thanks so much
mx416 is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 01:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mx416
Thanks HAVOK, that worked!!! I'm suprised it was missing the drivers for it or that they didn't work right with the software that came with it.

Thanks again, you're a real asset to these forums, thanks so much
No Problem. Glad to see you got it up and working. I'm not sure why ATI & NVIDIA don't have those drivers included in their REMOTE appz. Without the RF USB you can't use the remote. So........why not have the proper drivers installed with the remote app? I have no idea.... Somethings we'll never explain...
HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.